House of Shem’s New Album ‘Harmony’

House of Shem’s New Album ‘Harmony’

After releasing their new record in New Zealand back on December 6th 2013, House of Shem has signed a US & Europe distribution deal with VPAL Music (VP Records Music Group), setting a release date for Harmony on January 28th.

The 12 tracks of Harmony follow the 2010’s Island Vibration which debuted #1 on the New Zealand Top 40 album chart and is currently certified Gold. The third album for this Kiwi reggae outfit was recorded in a variety of studios across New Zealand throughout 2013 and mixed at the Marley’s Tuff Gong studio in Jamaica with the legendary Errol Brown, producing and engineering the release.
House of Shem hail from Aotearoa, New Zealand and like many legendary reggae groups this band is built around the classic harmony trio format. At the helm is Carl Perkins, a man with over thirty years experience writing and playing reggae music. As a former member of ‘Herbs’, ‘Mana’ and ‘The Twelve Tribes Of Israel’ amongst others, Carl’s musical credentials are impeccable.

Joining Carl are two of his sons Te Omeka and Isaiah who not only provide harmonies and play keyboards, they are both lead vocalist and composers in their own right. It is this blood link and family bond that renders the sum of their combined voices as something really extraordinary. Each of the three has their own distinct song writing style and voice, effectively giving the band three lead singers. The harmonies are sublime and the precision of their ensemble performance is phenomenal.

You can pick up Harmony on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!
Read up on other albums releasing in January 2014, by clicking HERE!

House of Shem Links:
House of Shem Website
House of Shem Facebook

Article By: Mike Patti

Watch: House of Shem – “Take You There”