Ali Campbell’s UB40 to Release ‘A Real Labour of Love’

Ali Campbell’s UB40 to Release ‘A Real Labour of Love’

Founding UB40 members, vocalist Ali Campbell, second vocalist Astro and keyboardist Mickey Virtue are back as they return to their roots with the upcoming release of A Real Labour Of Love.

Since 2013, there have been two groups touring under the name UB40 –- one led by Ali and the other by his brother, Duncan Campbell, whom Ali refers to as the Dark Side. Ali left UB40 in 2008 and was later joined by original UB40 members, Astro & Mickey. They have since released two acclaimed albums with 2014’s UB40_Ali_Astro_MickeySilhouette and 2016’s Unplugged, their first ever acoustic album.

On March 2nd, via Universal Music Group, Ali, Astro & Mickey will release A Real Labour of Love.

It’s a 16-track album under the signature voice of Ali Campbell & the sing-jay style of Astro backed by an 11-piece band. They chose a mix of both well & lesser known reggae songs to cover by artists such as Barrington Levy, Gregory Isaac, Beres Hammond, Ken Boothe, Culture and more. The albums leading single is “She Loves Me Now,” a cover on the Beres Hammond classic from 1992.

[Related: UB40’s Unplugged Greatest Hits Release]

Between 1983 and 1998, the original UB40 produced three Labour Of Love albums, bringing to life most notably their cover of Neil Diamond’s “Red Red Wine.” Now, with A Real Labour Of Love the modern day trio of Ali, Astro & Mickey have produced a continuation of their legendary ‘Labour of Love’ series, this time putting emphasis on interpreting reggae tracks from the 1980’s.

“The first three albums featured the songs we grew up listening to,” says Ali Campbell. “This one is built around the records we were listening to once UB40 were on the road.”

Recorded and mixed at Dean Street and RAK Studios, A Real Labour Of Love was produced by Ali Campbell. The cover-art was painted by American painter Mark T Smith who incorporated elements from the songs in an effort to create a unique contrast to the band.

Colorful vinyl copies of the record will be available upon release and we’ll have more details on the albums official U.S. debut, shortly. In the meantime, you can pre-order the new vinyl record by clicking HERE!

UB40 – A Real Labour of Love Tracklist:
UB40_ARealLabourOfLove1.) Making Love
2.) She Loves Me Now
3.) Strive
4.) A Place In The Sun
5.) Here I Come
6.) Moving Away
7.) International Herb
8.) Hard Times
9.) Ebony Eyes
10.) Telephone Love
11.) Hush Darling
12.) Tune In
13.) Once Ago
14.) In The Rain
15.) How Could I Leave
16.) Under Me Sleng Teng

Related Links:
UB40 Website
UB40 Facebook
UB40 Twitter

Article By: Mike Patti

Watch: UB40 – “Red Red Wine” (Unplugged)