August 2011 Album Releases

August 2011 Album Releases

August 1st is already here! The end of summer is nearing, but not before we’re treated to a few more solid releases here in the month of August. While it doesn’t hold the weight of July’s releases, there’s still some great music to carry us into the fall months of 2011. Lets take a look…

For the month of August, we take a look at 7 different albums that are fresh out of the studio, ready for your sound system. There’s a few full lengths along with some EP’s to remind us more music is coming.

Whenever there is new music, there is generally tours to support them, so be sure to check our Show Locator to see where each band will be playing next. If there’s a group you don’t see inside our Show Locator, let us know and we’ll update it. In the meantime, save your paycheck and take a peak at what August holds for us with new album releases…

August 2011 Album Releases

Simpkin Project – Everything You Want
Release Date: August 9th, 2011
On August 9th, 2011 Simpkin Project will be releasing their 3rd studio album titled Everything You Want. The 14 track album plays a multi-faceted blend of reggae and Americana that varies greatly on its exterior layers but only atop the organic rhythms of reggae music. The album was Produced by Phil Simpkin, Shawn Taylor and The Simpkin Project and all songs were mixed, edited and recorded by Shawn Taylor at HDP Studios in Huntington Beach, CA. The release was then Mastered by Rueben Cohen at Lurssen Mastering in Hollywood Ca.

The Green – Love & Affection EP
Release Date: August 9th, 2011
The Green will be releasing their next EP titled Love & Affection on August 9th, followed by their new full length album titled Ways & Means on October 25th, 2011. The EP will be available digitally & will include 4 tracks from the upcoming record along with exclusive bonus dub. The Love & Affection EP is an excellent intro to the band’s maturing sound, featuring the three singles “Love & Affection,” “She Was The Best,” and “Got Me In Love,” along with the roots-heavy album track “Travlah.” The exclusive track is a dub version of “Travlah,” mixed by Michael Goldwasser of the Easy Star All-Stars.
This will be The Green’s first release under their new label, Easy Star Records. You can download their new song Love & Affection for FREE on our Pacific Island Sampler, by clicking HERE

Three Legged Fox – Always, Anyways
Release Date: August 16th, 2011
Three Legged Fox will be digitally releasing their new 12 track, self-produced album Always, Anyway, on August 16th, 2011. This will be the groups 3rd album release in 5 years. The first single off the new album will be “Let You Down,” and a music video for the song will debut on Monday August 1, 2011. Following the album release, Three Legged Fox plans on touring to promote the album in major cities nationwide.
“We’ve made the raw album, we’ve made the traditional reggae album with the horns, organs, and such. says Three Legged Fox. “We are an alternative rock band, an alternative rock, reggae band. We tightened up, started building songs in a rock structure. The demo process alone for this new album was 10 or 11 months.” Says Three Legged Fox in regards to their evolving sound.
“In terms of how it sounds, we wanted to make it big. There is a log of guitar, a lot of vocals, some synth, all kinds of stuff. A lot of people identify that to be the standard pop format, but for us, it is brand new because our previous albums were all so simple.”

SkillinJah – Emergency Spliff EP
Release Date: August 16th
GanJah Records, owned by Josh Heinrichs, is proud to announce that on Aug 16th they will be officially releasing the “Emergency Spliff” EP by SkillinJah, former Jah Roots band mate of Josh Heinrichs.
The album was entirely co-written by SkillinJah & Josh Heinrichs, during a recent summer get together while SkillinJah had returned to his homestate of Missouri to visit family and friends. SkillinJah who normally resides in NYC where he divides his time between raising his own family and playing in the band, 45 Shootout, as well as voicing riddims for different producers. SkillinJah has voiced for labels and producers from Jamaica to Europe, several of which have been released on VP Records internationally under SkillinJah’s alias name; Baddaflexx.
This album finds SkillinJah in a more natural & organic acoustic setting than the dancehall riddims he is normally heard on, but he still maintains that great DJ style, just this time on more rootsie style riddims.

10Ft Ganja Plant – Shake Up The Place
Release Date: August 30th, 2011
10 FT Ganja Plant will be releasing their new album “Shake Up The Place” on CD, MP3 & 180g Vinyl LP on Tuesday, August 30th, 2011. Pre-orders for the new album will be available soon, but in the meantime & for the next three weeks, the group will be premiering a video of a new song every week and giving away a FREE MP3 of the track. Stay tuned for more updates on this release, set to be dished out on ROIR Records.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – I’m With You
Release Date: August 30th, 2011
Since 1983, the Los Angeles based Red Hot Chili Peppers have released 9 albums and on August 30th, 2011, they will be releasing their 10th studio album. This is RHCP’s first album since the 2006 release of Stadium Arcadium and their first release since long time guitarist John Frusciante departed the band in 2009. He was the groups guitarist for 21 years and has been replaced with new guitarist Josh Klinghoffer. This new album was produced by Rick Ruben and will be titled I’m With You and it’ll be released on Warner Bros Records. The artwork was designed by Damien Hirst and singer, Anthony Kiedis said, “Its an image. Its art. Iconic. We didn’t give it it’s meaning but it’s clearly open to interpretation.” The album’s first single, “The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie” was released to radio on July 15, 2011, three days earlier than expected due to the single leaking.

Natural Vibrations – Got This Music
Release Date: August 2011
Natural Vibrations, aka Natty Vibes, have been a group going on the legal age of 18 years and they will be releasing their 7th release & 6th studio album, this month, titled Got This Music. The 6 Piece Reggae-Rock Pop group continuing to make splashes out of Hawaii and beyond is set to celebrate their new release on Go Aloha Entertainment this month. While there’s no official word on the specific release date of this album just yet, Natural Vibrations assures fans it’ll be released in August full of all new music. The Group is currently pushing their new single from Got This Music, titled “Dont Worry”. Stay tuned for more updates along with an Album Review & Interview with the group!