Barrington Levy’s Reggae Anthology

Barrington Levy’s Reggae Anthology

As mentioned in our December 2012 Album Releases article, Barrington Levy has teamed up with VP Records to release Reggae Anthology: Sweet Reggae Music (’79-’84). Complete with 40 tracks, this release includes all of the hits!

With 40 tracks, this is double disc collection was released on December 18th & includes Levy’s early years in chronological order from 1979 – 1984. In addition to this timeless musical selection, the set’s liner notes give an in-depth look of the living legend’s journey throughout this crucial period. You can pick up the album on iTunes by clicking HERE

Fans have been waiting 17 years for a new album from Barrington Levy. It’s rumored his next album, currently titled It’s About Time will be his. In an Interview he did with Brian Turk of Marquee Magazine, Levy acknowledged that question by saying “That’s what I was thinking, but people keep saying to me I must not say that, because I am well and alive, and I need to keep this thing going, and I talk like I don’t believe in what I was doing,”

Barrington Levy opened up, expressing his frustration with the industry today, “I just don’t like where the music has gone to. Disc jockeys asking you for money to get airplay. Disc jockeys becoming producers and if you don’t sing for them, then you don’t get played.”

Levy continued on by saying “Politics in the business now — it sucks. It is very discouraging, ya know? I am just pissed off with where the younger ones are taking it now. In my time it was fun, it was laughter. Everyone was enjoying it. Put it this way, the dancehall scene was from the ’80s to the ’90s. That’s it. It’s done. The lyrical content of it sucks. They say anything on a record now, and don’t even care about what they’re talking about,” he said.

Let’s hope his new album isn’t his last and released soon! In the meantime we can celebrate his career with his Reggae Anthology or you can find him featured on Slightly Stoopid‘s latest album Top of the World on the song “Ur Love”.

Reggae Anthology Track List. Disc 1
1. Collie Weed
2. Bounty Hunter
3. Walk 2000 Miles
4. Don’t Fuss Nor Fight
5. Shine Eye Gal
6. Shaolin Temple
7. A Yah We Deh
8. Trod With Jah Jah
9. Looking My Love
10. Moonlight Lover
11. Skylarking
12. Wedding Ring
13. Sister Carol
14. Mary Long Tongue
15. Stray Away Girl
16. Look Youthman
17. Crucifixion
18. The Letter Song
19. Black Hen Chicken
20. Tribute To Moa Anbessa ft. Jah Thomas
Reggae Anthology Track List. Disc 2
21. My Woman
22. 21 Girls Salute
23. Hammer
24. Warm And Sunny Day
25. The Winner
26. Whom Shall I Be Afraid O
27. She Rob & Gorn
28. Poor Man Style
29. Tomorrow Is Another Day
30. Robber Man
31. Like A Soldier
32. Dances Are Changing
33. Praise His Name
34. Prison Oval Rock
35. Black Roses
36. Pon Your Toe
37. Money Move
38. Mini Bus
39. Here I Come
40. Under Mi Sensi

Barrington Levy Links:
Barrington Levy Website
Barrington Levy Facebook

Article By: Mike Patti
Photo By: Johann David

Here’s Barrington Levy’s official music video to the song “No War” featuring Kardinal Offishall. There’s also a remix of this song featuring Busta Rhymes. The video was released Sept of 2011. Enjoy the video…