Jimmy Cliff’s First Album In A Decade

Jimmy Cliff’s First Album In A Decade

Photo by Vision Addict

One of the most important reggae artists of all time, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee, and GRAMMY Award-winning icon Jimmy Cliff has announced his first album in over a decade, Refugees is due out on August 12, 2022 with UMe.

The news comes out with the drop of the title track “Refugees” [feat. Wyclef Jean] dance version!

Both artists share a deep connection, so much so that in 2010 Wyclef inducted Cliff into the Rock & Roll hall of fame. On the new single, Wyclef Jean brings a neo-soul hip-hop twist on top of reggae-fused Afro-Caribbean beats.

Commenting on the new single and working with Cliff, Wyclef says, “For me, coming to America wasn’t easy when I first got here. Having family members who suffered political torment, it wasn’t easy for us. When I say ‘Fugees, ‘Fugees’ is short for ‘Refugees. I was always like, ‘If I could penetrate a message, it would be that. And who inspires that? Jimmy Cliff is one of my biggest inspirations ever, and he has always stayed on message when it comes to peace, love, and unity. The collaboration with this record is just what we are, talking for the forgotten. In an era where love is needed, I don’t think anybody can convey that better than the king.”

The prolific and timeless musician, Cliff’s new album comes out ahead of a few milestones. This month Cliff celebrates his 78th birthday on July 30. The classic filmThe Harder They Come starring Jimmy turns 50 which also catapulted reggae music into the mainstream ethos with his creation of The Harder They Come Soundtrack. Given its gravity, The Library of Congress deemed it “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant” and chose it for preservation in the National Recording Registry. The album’s release also fittingly follows the 60th Anniversary of Jamaica’s Independence from the UK on August 6, 2022.

Leaving us with a final thought, Jimmy says, “I’m very proud of this, because it sees Jimmy Cliff in a new musical direction. I’ll always go into something new. Even though Refugees is a heavy title, you’re going to be moving your feet, because it’s on the dancefloor. There we go. I love it.”

1. Money Love
2. Here I Am
3. Refugees (Rap Version) feat. Wyclef Jean
4. Security
5. One Song
6. My Love Song
7. Moving On
8. We Want Justice feat. Dwight Richards
9. Racism feat. Lilty Cliff
10. Bridges
11. Punus
12. Happy Day
13. Refugees (Dance Version) feat. Wyclef Jean

By Mercedes Romana