June 2011 Album Releases!

June 2011 Album Releases!

After a wild Spring, Summer is right around the corner with artists & groups gearing up for the next tour & festival. As summer draws in, there are a ton of groups looking to put out that new release for the Summer in an effort to be the official 2011 summer time anthem. Save that money & get that summer job because we still have July & August coming and June is just warming things up…

For the month of June we take a look at 7 different albums capable of being your 2011 Summer time soundtrack. Tis the season for new music and while there are a lot of great music coming out this month, such as Tribal Seed’s In Your Eyes that’s been released, we kept our focus on the following album releases. Save your paycheck and take a peak at what June holds for us with new album releases…

June 2011 Album Releases

Ziggi Recado – Self-Titled
Release Date: June 7th, 2011
Dutch reggae artist Ziggi Recado returns with his second Greensleeves/VP Records album, that was released on June 7, 2011. The self-titled studio effort showcases 14 new songs, penned and mostly produced by the Holland-based artist.
Recado hails from St. Eustatius, an island near St. Maarten in the West Indies, and grew up in Holland. Now heralded as the Netherlands’ #1 Reggae act, he has recorded and toured with numerous Jamaican and European artists and has thus amassed a solid fan base over the years. His diverse background flavors his music with sprinkles of hip-hop, rock, dub-step and other influences that blend into a roots reggae fusion.
He sees growth as a musician with this third album as he experiments with sounds, sentiments and singers to create a hit collection, which includes productions from Curtis Lynch, Rock ‘N Vibes, and Special Delivery, and features Etana, Maikal X, Tippa Irie, and Mr. Probz, to name a few. You can pick this album up today on itunes by clicking HERE
Read Chris Castro’s Album Review for Ziggi Recado by clicking HERE

J Boog – J Boog EP
Release Date: June 14th, 2011
The singer of Samoan descent was born in Long Beach and raised in Compton, California. His new album, “Back Yard Boogie” is expected to be released sometime this year and will feature reggae giants Richie Spice, Tarrus Riley, Fiji and Morgan Heritage, as well as Long Beach neighborhood Hip-Hop superstar Snoop Dogg.
As a precursor to his official new album, J Boog is dropping the “J Boog EP” on June 14th 2011 via Wash House Hawaii/EMPIRE Distribution. The EP features five brand new songs, along with three previously released songs, including his smash hits “Let’s Do It Again” and “So Far Gone”.

Ziggy Marley – Wild & Free
Release Date: June 14th, 2011
On June 14th, Ziggy Marley will be releasing his fourth solo album titled “Wild & Free” via Tuff Gong Worldwide. The overall theme of the album is a powerful one, as it propels Marley to challenge social injustice along with the political weapons of ignorance and fear. This may be Ziggy’s most political and personal to date.
“Wild and Free” was produced with friend and collaborator Don Was at Ocean Way Studios in Hollywood, CA as well as Marley’s own studio. The album includes 12 freshly polished tracks with guest appearances that include Woody Harrelson, Heavy D & Ziggy’s song, Daniel “Bam” Marley. You can pick this album by clicking HERE
How awesome is the album cover? Made to replicate a pack of matches. Pretty awesome.

Ellwood – Lost In Translation
Release Date: June 21st
So when Chuck, the golden voiced pilot of the Mad Caddies moved home to his tiny farming community, there was nothing to do but get together with some buddies (including the original Caddies drummer, Todd) and make music. So when a bunch of accomplished musicians get together and use their abilities to craft sun soaked SoCal reggae and laid back ska, the result is the band Ellwood and they’re the product of lazy days spent in California’s Santa Ynez Valley just jamming in the garage, the guest house, the barn and a bar.
As a result of lazy days jammin, Ellwood is slated to release their 9 song album debut with “Lost in Transition”. An album that could abtly be described as a soundtrack to the long, slow, carefree days of the Cali Summer. Ellwood’s debut on Fat Wreck Chords is due out on June 21st, 2011

Alborosie – 2 Times Revolution
Release Date: June 21st, 2011
Alberto “Alborosie” D’Ascola is back with “2 Times Revolution”, a brand-new collection of hits from the Italian-born, Jamaican-based multi-faceted musician, scheduled for release from VP Records on June 21, 2011. Using music to express his rebel within, Alborosie serves up 16 tracks composed of his favored socially conscious lyrics and delivered in his trademark Jamaican-tinged vocals.
Showcasing singles such as “Respect” featuring Junior Reid and “You Make Me Feel Good” featuring Etana, Alborosie is hitting with tunes for fans across the board. “2 Times Revolution” profiles Alborosie in a lyrical battle with music as his ministry. “The music is like a ministry, and I don’t even think of myself as doing reggae anymore,” discloses Alborosie. “I’m doing ‘Jahspel’ music instead, which is a form of gospel music. We’re redesigning the whole concept of it and I’m here to change everything, believe me.”

Ease Up – On The Fly
Release Date: June 25th 2011
On June 25th, SoCal’s own Ease Up will be releasing a 6 track EP titled On The Fly independently. On The Fly was recorded at 17th St Recording studio in Costa Mesa, CA with Lew Richards. It features guest appearances from Matt Liufau & Juan Rios of Seedless, Dominic Blas of Tribal Theory, Don Cart of Stranger, Wes Smith of Smith 5 & is described by the group as sound like a dubstep icecream truck. This is Ease Up’s 3rd official release since 2009 and their first release since the March 2010 release of If You Only Knew EP.

Tommy Dubs – True Life & B Sides
Release Date: June 28th 2011
Hailing from Ocean Beach, CA, Tommy Dubs, True Life & B-Sides is a digital release due out on June 28th, 2011 in all major online music retailers. The album includes 6 live tracks & 4 Dub versions. With this record, Tommy Dubs & Seismic Leveler (backing band) take a much more raw approach from the debut of his first album En Los Campos. The live tracks were recorded on May 27th, 2011 at Winstons in Ocean Beach, CA. As a compliment to the live performance, the last 4 tracks off this release are all dub versions. This recording is an authentic representation of the Do It Yourself ehtos and personality of the band.