Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe’ Release ‘New Ammo’

Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe’ Release ‘New Ammo’

On February 4th, Controlled Substance Sound Labs in association with Stoopid Records released New Ammo, the brand new album from Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe.

For almost three decades, saxophonist Karl Denson has gained legendary-status, traversing the world, performing alongside some of the most talented musicians in the business. In his earliest years, Denson toured with Lenny Kravitz‘s band before co-forming Karl-Denson-1The Greyboy Allstars and his own group, Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe. More recently, Denson has been seen playing an amazing array of gigs, not only with his own groups at festivals all over the nation, but playing one-offs of Beastie Boys tribute sets and even a run of Ray Charles cover sets with Zach Deputy dubbed the Ray Charles Boogaloo Dance Party.

With all these projects It is safe to say Denson stays busy. And in between his own dates, Denson became the unofficial eight member of Slightly Stoopid. A band Denson has known since meeting in 1996. Years later, together they have toured and recorded together, having Denson appear on Slightly Stoopid’s last two releases.

Click here to read a recent letter from Controlled Substance Sound Labs’ Jon Phillips about this history.

Despite all his travel in the past two years, Denson has found time to get into the studio. In April of 2013, Denson with The Greyboy Allstars, released Inland Emperor, the groups fifth album. Now, Less than a year later, Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe has released the group’s fourth record, New Ammo. Admittedly hard to mimic the live feeling on a record, Denson describes the latest studio effort, “We’ve finally figured out how to capture in the studio what the Tiny Universe does live. We move around a lot musically, but this record reflects who we are as a band and where we’re headed with our music.”

KDTU’s first release since 2009, the 13-tracks of New Ammo make up Denson’s debut release on Slightly Stoopid’s record label, Stoopid Recordsin association Controlled Substance Sound Labs. The record is composed of Denson originals like the live fan favorite “Everybody Knows That,” the albums first single, “My Baby,” featuring Nicki Bluhm on vocals, as well as tracks featuring the Slightly Stoopid horns and Robert Walter. Denson also wows with renditions of “Seven Nation Army” originally by the White Stripes, “Hang Me Up To Dry” by Cold War Kids and “Sure Shot” off the Beastie Boys’ Ill Communication.

Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe is currently on tour supporting the new record. The band has dates set through February and March, playing around the Northwest, Colorado and California. KDTU ends the run with three nights at the newly formed Las Vegas Brooklyn Bowl and spots at the New Orleans Jazz fest, where the band presents, A Night of Rick James Bitch!, what is sure to be an epic Rick James tribute set, late Thursday night, May 1st.

You can pick up New Ammo on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!

KDTU-NewammoNew Ammo Tracklist:
01.) Grenadiers
02.) Three Trials of Strength
03.) Hang Me Out to Dry
04.) New Ammo
05.) The Duel
06.) My Baby
07.) Seven Nation Army
08.) Apres Ski
09.) Everybody Knows That
10.) Sure Shot
11.) Malgorium
12.) Cheerleader
13.) Odysseus

Karl Denson Tour Dates:

Karl Denson Links:
Karl Denson Website
Karl Denson Facebook
Karl Denson Twitter

Article By: Aaron Solomon
Photo By: Peter Monti