Marley 70th Releases: Easy Skanking In Boston ’78

Marley 70th Releases: Easy Skanking In Boston ’78

As a celebration of this birthday year that will last throughout 2015, Bob Marley’s legacy will continue on with new releases of rare and unreleased material as well as deluxe editions of fan favorites and his most memorable work. The first music to be released, a live 13 track set titled Bob Marley & The Wailers: Easy Skanking In Boston ’78.


Back in November of 2014, Eagle Rock Entertainment released a DVD + CD set, titled Uprising Live!. As there are not a lot of Bob Marley live concerts available on DVD, this restored 1980’s set from Germany is one of the best recent releases. Now following that live release, another great live set has been restored and properly packaged.

Hitting stores on February 17th & containing the first set from two historic live shows at Boston’s Music Hall on June 8, 1978, Bob Marley & The Wailers: Easy Skanking In Boston ’78, features a new and unreleased performance of a handful of Marley’s most infamous songs. Among the 13 tracks, highlights of the performance include an energetic “Jammin’” and “The Heathen.” Check out the full track list below.

Like so many of today’s internet-videos, the video footage for this recording was shot live with a hand-held camera by a fan that Marley allowed to sit right in front of the stage. The result, is the restoration of remarkable imagery that captures Marley from just a few feet away, allowing viewers to experience the intimacy of a set with Marley, The Wailers and I-Threes.

During shooting, the use of film forced the cinematographer to change rolls of tape, leaving the gaps in the live footage. Produced by Ziggy Marley, Cedella Marley, Jaime Feldman and Matt Solodky, the 46-minute video includes 7 of the 13 songs in the full set. To align the tape and fill in the gaps in the video, additionally created new animated material is also to be a part of this release, marking the first time the family has incorporated this technology into any official Marley releases.

These specially created video elements layered over the existing soundboard-audio is unseen content, previously produced by Craig Bernard and Sara Mora Ivicevich and created and directed by the animation team made up of S77, Matt Reed and Michael Scroggins. A group whose credits include recent projects for Bruno Mars, Pearl Jam, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Disney, ESPN and many others.

The product will ship in multiple formats paired with beautifully informative album liner notes. Opening with several pictures of album and tour poster art, included in the package among other live shots is a narrative, Music Of Jah People by Journalist Don Rojas. A piece that leads into Marley’s own introspective reprinted from the N.Y. Amsterdam News. These thoughts and responses are followed by a display of lyrics along with the band member’s individual bio’s, track list and credits.

The album will be available on blu-ray/CD combo or DVD/CD combo pack as well as standalone CD versions available physically, on iTunes or other digital outlets. For More information about Bob Marley and his music check out the details below.

The set listing for the Bob Marley & The Wailers: Easy Skanking In Boston ’78 CD:
1. Slave Driver
2. Burnin’ and Lootin
3. Them Belly Full
4. The Heathen
5. Rebel Music
6. I Shot the Sheriff
7. Easy Skanking
8. No Woman, No Cry
9. Lively Up Yourself
10. Jammin’
11. War/No More Trouble
12. Get Up Stand Up
13. Exodus
TRT: 1:15:17

The set listing for the Bob Marley & The Wailers: Easy Skanking In Boston ’78 Blu-Ray/DVD:
1. Rebel Music
2. I Shot the Sheriff
3. No Woman, No Cry
4. Lively Up Yourself
5. Jamming
6. War/No More Trouble
7. Exodus
TRT approx. 46min

The complete list of the performers on Bob Marley & The Wailers: Easy Skanking In Boston ’78 :
Bob Marley – vocals, guitar
Carlton Barrett – drums
Aston Barrett – bass
Marcia Griffiths – backup vocals
Rita Marley – backup vocals
Judy Mowatt – backup vocals
Tyrone Downie – keyboards
Alvin Patterson – percussion
Julian Marvin – lead guitar

Bob Marley Links:
Bob Marley Website
Bob Marley Facebook

Article By: Aaron Solomon

WATCH: The trailer for Bob Marley & The Wailers: Easy Skanking In Boston ’78