May 2014 Album Releases

May 2014 Album Releases


Welp, its the end of May. For The Pier, this has been a whirlwind of a month, all about the music. Not only were we able to attend Orlando’s Reggae On The Block, The Hangout Music Festival on the beaches of Alabama, and the Superbowl of Reggae-Rock music, the California Roots Music and Arts Festival, this month our iPods became loaded with tons of brand new music for the road trip.

May has delivered new albums from all types of genres and artists. The legendary most hardworking band around, The Roots dropped their 11th studio record,…and then you shoot your cousin. Also, The Black Keys released their highly anticipated new album, Turn Blue.

From the Jam Scene Moe. dropped No Guts, No Glory their 11th studio album. FLorida’s The Heavy Pets released their new EP Rags and Aces, and Ghost Owl released their debut record, Say Goodbye the Finland. Be sure to check out these records as well as the following 7 new releases.

If there are any albums we missed, drop them in the comments below or on our Facebook or Twitter.

Check out the Album Releases from prior months:

  • January 2014 Album Releases
  • February 2014 Album Releases
  • March 2014 Album Releases
  • April 2014 Album Releases

  • May 2014 Album Releases

    Louderspace – Airwaves
    Release Date: May 2nd

    Meeting each other in 2011 and then forming a band in college, made up of four friends that just liked to hang out and play music in San Luis Obispo, the quartet now known as Louder Space as has just released its debut record, Airwaves. After initially putting together a DIY home-recorded EP titled Signs of Life, the group with the help of a very successful Kickstarter campaign, set out to define and spread the Louderspace sound with their first studio effort.

    Following the release of a couple of these tracks last year, the new full-length record features a 11 tracks composed of the bands original fusion of Alternative Rock. In honor of everything it took to make their first album, the band has dedicated it “to each and every one of you, and to our lovely city, San Luis Obispo.”

    Sample the album by heading to Soundcloud.

    You can pick up Airwaves on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!


    Various Artist – Ragga Ragga Ragga 2014
    Release Date: May 6th

    On May 6th,VP Records and Greensleeves Records released the “Raw and X-Rated Dancehall Series” Ragga Ragga Ragga 2014. The annual dancehall series compilation will feature some of Jamaica’s biggest dancehall hits like Spice’s “So Mi Like It”, and Vibe Kartel’s “Punanny A Mi Best Friend.” It also will be featuring some of Jamaican’s best emerging artists like Don Husky, Radijah, Alkaline, Busy Signal, Elephant Man, Gyptian, and Christopher Martin. Ragga means raw and this 14-track compilation delivered with songs that are running all through the clubs and dancehalls. The hottest sounds in dancehall are on Ragga Ragga Ragga 2014.

    Read more about the album by clicking HERE!

    You can pick up Ragga Ragga Ragga 2014 on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!


    Tribal Seeds – Representing
    Release Date: May 13th

    Tuesday, May 13th, marked a day that fans of new-age reggae have been anxiously awaiting for at least 3 years in the making. After countless hours on the road, sold out shows across the nation, and some major additions to the band’s lineup, Southern California’s Tribal Seeds have announced plans for the release of their fourth studio album, Representing.

    This will be the band’s first full-length release since 2009’s The Harvest. More recently, Representing comes as a follow up to 2011’s Soundwaves EP, which marked the first time that the band would work in the studio with current member and keyboardist, E.N Young. Known as the United States’ most Southwest recording studio, Tribal Seeds chose E.N’s Imperial Sound Recording Studio for engineering and mixing on the entire album. The highly anticipated 12-track LP was then mastered at Lion & Fox Studios by Mike Caplan.

    Read more about the album by clicking HERE!

    You can pick up Representing on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!


    Various Artists – Music Unites – Reggae Around the World vol 3
    Release Date: May 13th

    On Tuesday, May 13th, reggae artists from across the globe have come together once again to bring you Volume 3 of the Music Unites – Reggae Around The World compilations! Volume 3 is the first of these compilations to come out in 2014 with Volumes 1 and 2 dropping in August and November of last year. The newest installment of Reggae Around The World features another 30 tracks from various reggae artists of all different cultures and backgrounds. Just as before, the compilation costs $4.99 with all proceeds going towards the the organization. is committed to help bring back music education for underprivileged children in underfunded inner city school systems. The first two volumes have been a huge success and although there are many other great organizations and artists doing their part to better our future generations, the efforts behind the Reggae Around The World compilations have been unmatched.

    Read more about the album by clicking HERE!

    You can pick up Music Unites – Reggae Around the World vol 3 on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!


    Mad Caddies – Dirty Rice
    Release Date: May 15th

    It has been 7 years since the Mad Caddies last released a record. Originally scheduled for a February 4th release date Dirty Rice is now out! Recorded at their home-studio in Santa Ynez Valley, the 15 tracks are said to have a recognizable Caddies sound, fusing elements of Punk, Ska, Rock, Dixieland jazz and Reggae. The record was produced independently with the group’s drummer, Todd Rosenberg at the helm, with help some pre-production help from Fat Mike of NOFX.

    You can pick up Dirty Rice on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!


    Ziggi Recado – Theraputic
    Release Date: May 20th

    On May 20th, European reggae artist, Ziggi Recado released his fourth studio album, Theraputic on Zion High Productions. The album is produced entirely by Zion I Kings & features a slew of solid guest appearances… Theraputic includes 13 total tracks with 4 guest appearances from Lutan Fyah, Vaughn Benjamin (of Midnite), Taranchyla & Earl 16. This is his first full-length release since his 2011 self-titled record & his first album since splitting from his longtime producer, Rock ‘N Vibes.

    Read more about the album by clicking HERE!

    You can pick up Theraputic on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!


    Beebs and Her Money Makers – Würst Album Ever
    Release Date: May 27th

    After performing on the most recent Vans Warped Tour and touring the country supporting Reel Big Fish, the Ska-Funk-Soul outfit Beebs and Her Money Makers dropped an EP titled, How To Start A Dance Party. Produced by Aaron Barrett, front man of Reel Big Fish, this release iss composed of 5 tracks, including one that features Aaron Barrett, as well as an excellent Ska cover of Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball.”

    On May 27th this Orlando band released Würst Album Ever a full length 12-track record featuring four tracks off that EP.

    You can pick up Würst Album Ever on iTunes now, by clicking HERE!


    Article By: Aaron Solomon