MP3 Leak of the Week: 3rd Alley

MP3 Leak of the Week: 3rd Alley

This week’s FREE MP3 Leak is a song called Space Cadet and it’s the newest single released by 3rd Alley. This song will be featured off their new, 11 track, album “Shoulda Woulda Coulda” that will be released this Tuesday, July 26th 2011. Stop by each Sunday for a new MP3 Leak of the Week, right on the home page that runs from Sunday to Saturday on the home page!

3rd Alley –Space Cadet

  • You can download the song Space Cadet for FREE on our home page under the MP3 Leak of the Week on the right hand column! This Download will only be available until Saturday July 30th
  • Here’s what Zack Walters of 3rd Alley told The Pier about the song “Space Cadet”:

    “Space Cadet” based pretty much around a naive girl with unrealistic vigor for doing the “right thing,” meanwhile kind of missing macro vision even though she’s “flying so high.” Example could be a vegan who preaches about how it’s bad to eat meat, but is also addicted to heroin. But she’s also got some piercing charm and a twist of culture. Based around a simple beat I made on the MV-8800, so woofers are highly recommended, we definitely just wanted the song to bounce along. Hope people dig it. Cheers!”
    -Zack Walters, 3rd Alley

    You can pick up an acoustic version of the song Space Cadet on the latest Sense Boardwear Compilation, titled Amplified; An Acoustic Collective inside our Pier Store by clicking HERE

    “Shoulda Woulda Coulda” features guest appearances and on the song Mo Hop Than Hip you’ll hear Zack Walters trading vocals with Knowledgeborn 07. This song was actually on The Pier’s MP3 Leak of the Week a few months back, for those lucky to have gotten it for free! “Sasquatch” was co written by Andre Davis of Tomorrows Bad Seeds & Josh Fischel is featured on a portion of the song The Doors Are Now Closing.

    “Shoulda Woulda Coulda” Track Listing:
    1.) Antidote
    2.) Jah Fakin’ Deejays
    3.) Space Cadet
    4.) Sasquatch
    5.) Bloodshot Eyes
    6.) Humpty Drunkee
    7.) Green to Red
    8.) Medicated
    9.) Drink it Up
    10.) Mo Hop Than Hip
    11.) The Doors are Now Closing

    Album Personnel:
    Zack Walters: vocals, guitar, synth, etc
    Jack Hale: drums
    Todd Forman: sax, baritone, etc
    Matt Brein: bass, backing vocals
    Si Short: bass, backing vocals

    Here’s what Zack Walters continued to tell The Pier about new album Shoulda Woulda Coulda
    “When I first started writing for this album, my mission was to make the most shallow, fun, party inspiring group of songs possible. It started like that, but much to my dismay, they eventually got some substance! Dammit! But we did keep the album geared towards the fun spectrum. We used keyboard bass at times, drum machines at times, keyboards at times and a lot of snaps and claps. Gourde piano, metal sweep, MV-8800 and a mini marshall amp were used on this time. The drums were recorded @ total access in redondo beach, but most of the album was recorded at my house in a quiet little neighborhood in Long Beach. We’ve left some of the “outtakes”. For example there was a bird chirping outside the window when I was doing vocals, and when the song ended I was going off on the bird. Not thinking we’d ever leave it, but taking it out also seemed inappropriate. With that being said, we’ve always been about the songs, and we hope that people dig the songs most of all. The production is great thanks to Adam “king money” Arnold, flying the millennium falcon or running the board and engineering it.”
    -Zack Walters of 3rd Alley

    Thank you Zack & 3rd Alley, stay tuned here at The Pier for more updates on 3rd Alley & feel free to follow them on their Facebook page by clicking HERE. Are you looking forward to this release? What’s your favorite 3rd Alley song? Spark up a discussion inside our very own Pier Forum with other fans, artists & chatters from the community!

  • Huge thanks again to 3rd Alley for giving us the song Space Cadet to post up for FREE download. Giving away music for FREE is a privilege that we’re grateful for and we appreciate the work these artists do! Please feel free to download this song for free and spread the awareness to your friends!
  • Enjoy the FREE track on the Home Page!
    Mike Patti