MP3 Leak of the Week: 9 Mile Roots

MP3 Leak of the Week: 9 Mile Roots

9 Mile Roots is this big 8 piece reggae-rock group out of the Baltimore/DC metro area that caught our attention with the release of their new single “Feel”. They agreed to allow us to give the MP3 away for the week if we agreed to include the music video for the song. So with the song up on the homepage for FREE, lets read more about the band and check out that video…

You can download 9 Mile Roots new single “Feel” for FREE on our home page under the MP3 Leak of the Week on the right hand column! This Download will only be available until Saturday, Sept. 5th, 2015.

9 Mile Roots – “Feel” – Download HERE
9 Mile Roots
“Feel” Background:

“Feel” was Produced by Kevin Johnston at Orca Sound Studio, Abingdon MD. Here’s what guitarist/vocalist Matt Huss had to say regarding the song:
“‘Feel’ was originally written as a push and pull between the main horn line and the opening guitar riff – that back and forth, the call and answer that they produce was the basis of a groove to expand upon. The song itself is about slowing life down and maximizing the bliss that surrounds you, enjoying what comes your way. ‘Just remember to feel it’ – Sometimes we find ourselves wound up so tight around material and wanting more, that we forget the things that really make us happy… So let’s all remember to slow it down, just be and Feel!”

9 Mile Roots describes their music as Suburban Roots Reggae, which paints the visual that this band is from the suburbs playing reggae music and not from the ghetto, streets or palm-tree laced islands where this music has its roots. “We may not be a vision of the typical dreadlocked reggae musician that would first come to mind – but reggae music has never been about what’s on the outside – music comes from the soul – and what drives us keeps us alive,” says bassist/vocalist Josh Behun.

With that, they have a new song “Feel” which is the groups 3rd single of the year, following last months release of “Premonition”. With the 3rd single comes the groups first music video which you can view below. The video for “Feel” was shot in Ocean City, MD much to the dismay of the local onlookers. Produced by Zach Myers and Everett Glovier the video stars semi-pro snowboarder and childhood friend of the band, Kevin Kobasa, stumbling throughout the boardwalk of Ocean City, Maryland, wreaking havoc on tourists and locals alike, presumably after a night of some heavy partying. Check the video and links below…

You can pick up 9 Mile Roots music on iTunes by clicking HERE!

9 Mile Roots Background:
9 Mile Roots consists of members Jay Randell (lead vocals/trumpet), Dave Muse (drums), Josh Behun (bass), Matt Huss (guitar, vocals), Ryan McDonough (guitar), Matt Foote (baritone sax), Casey Masters (trumpet), and Gabe Andino (tenor sax/vocals), 9 Mile Roots bring an intense and rich sound to their live performances, which seethe with an ample of amount of rock energy while keeping the reggae-tinged groove consistent throughout their favorite songs like the upbeat and uptempo “Kabuki” and the crunchy and funky “Simplify”.

The eight-piece suburban reggae rock band based out of the Baltimore / DC metro is built behind a solid group of musicians pulling from diverse backgrounds, their music delivers creative tunes that have a strong reggae vibe with a bouncy hip-hop flow and a bit of a rock edge. Their full horn section compliments the typical rock band line-up; combining catchy melodies with strong riffs and a reggae- funk-overtone, consistently blending up well known aspects of the rock and reggae genres. After re-tooling the band, slightly over a year ago, adding and replacing a few members and shaking up the instrumentation a bit, we’ve been able to put together a great group of fresh new songs that we’re extremely proud of. We’ve been recording and releasing these songs in small chunks, as we work our way toward finishing up a full albums worth of new material. Feel is our third single release thus far from this new album, and we’re exciting to be premiering it with an accompanying video release as well.

9 Mile Roots Tour Dates

9 Mile Roots Links:
9 Mile Roots Website
9 Mile Roots Facebook
9 Mile Roots Twitter
9 Mile Roots SoundCloud

Huge thanks again to 9 Mile Roots for allowing us to share their new single “Feel” to post up for FREE download. Free music is a privilege that we’re grateful for and we appreciate the work these artists do! Please feel free to download this song for FREE and spread the awareness to your friends!
Enjoy the FREE track on the homepage!

Article By: Mike Patti

Watch: 9 Mile Roots – “Feel”

Watch: 9 Mile Roots – “Windows Down”