MP3 Leak of the Week: The Movement

MP3 Leak of the Week: The Movement

On Monday, November 24th, The Movement surprised everyone with the quiet release of their live, raw & all acoustic album titled Beneath The Palms. The album includes 11 total songs with 2 covers. One of the songs is their longtime fan favorite, “Hola” that we’re giving away for FREE download this week only…

You can download The Movement’s live acoustic rendering of “Hola”, for FREE on our home page under the MP3 Leak of the Week on the right hand column! This Download will only be available until Saturday Dec 6th, 2014.

The Movement – “Hola” (LIVE-Acoustic)
“Beneath The Palms” (Live Acoustic) Background:
On November 24th The Movement surprised everyone with the quiet release of their All-Acoustic album titled Beneath The Palms. It features 11 older songs with the addition of both Sublime & Bob Marley covers! The album was recorded on both coasts – outside on the front porch at The Movement’s Compound Studio in Valley Center, California, as well as in Bonita Springs, Florida at Sugar Shack.

This all acoustic album better identifies The Movement as being side by side, showing fans how well they sound when performing raw & uncut. If you’re looking for an all acoustic album in the realm of Slightly Stoopid’s Live & Direct: Acoustic Roots, look no further than this surprise release by The Movement. Complete with beautiful artwork from Kc Cowan, this product is one Fans of The Movement will love.

You can pick up Beneath The Palms by naming your own price by clicking HERE!

The Movement’s Background:
Hailing from Columbia, South Carolina, the reggae-rock group The Movement was formed in 2004 by a trio of Sublime and Pixies fans. Joshua Swain, Jordan Miller, and John Ruff, aka DJ Riggles, launched The Movement with their “alternative reggae” debut album, “On Your Feet.” In 2008, the group met Chris DiBeneditto, a Philadelphia-based producer who had worked with like-minded acts such as Slightly Stoopid and G. Love & Special Sauce. Relocating to Philadelphia, they recorded 2008’s “Set Sail” at DiBeneditto’s Philadelphonic Studios. The Movement expanded with the addition of Gary Jackson on drums and Jason “Smiles” Schmidt on bass. In 2012, Miller left the group, and the trio, now fronted by Swain, released their fourth album “Side By Side,” in 2013.

In 2014, the group added Keyboardist/Producer, Brendan Dane, aka Alific, to the group. Now, The Movement has released a live acoustic album titled Beneath The Palms that is made up of 11 songs, including 2 covers, recorded at two separate locations. Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 were recorded at The Compound Studio, outside on the front porch, in Valley Center, CA. Those tracks were engineered & mixed by Shelby Meddock. Tracks, 4, 6, 8 and 10 were recorded with Sugar Shack in Bonita Springs, FL from their Sugarshack Video Sessions and were engineered by Alex Casement and mixed by Brendan Dane. The entire album was then mastered by Danny Kalb in Columbus, OH with cover-art by Kc Cowan

The Movement Links:
The Movement Website
The Movement Facebook

Huge thanks again to The Movement for allowing us to share their live acoustic track for the throwback song “Hola” to post up for FREE download. Free music is a privilege that we’re grateful for and we appreciate the work these artists do! Please feel free to download this song for FREE and spread the awareness to your friends!
Enjoy the FREE track on the homepage!

Article By: Mike Patti

Watch: The Movement – “Small Axe” (Bob Marley Cover)