MP3 Leak of the Week: The Movement

MP3 Leak of the Week: The Movement

The Movement is back with a new album, their first since former guitarist/vocalist, Jordan Miller, left the band & founding guitarist/vocalist, Josh Swain, returned. The new album is called Side By Side & the first song off that album is available for FREE download, this week only! Grab the song on the homepage & read more on the song & album here…

You can download The Movement’s new song “Echo” on our home page under the MP3 Leak of the Week column on the right hand side! This download will only be available until Saturday, Sept. 28th, 2013.

The Movement“Echo”

“Echo” Background:
The Movement’s Side By Side was released on August 13th, 2013. The album includes 12 brand new songs, with guest features by Chuck Treece and Rafa of SOJA on Trumpet. Their first single “Sweet Life”, which features SOJA’s Rafa on trumpet, includes a music video to go with it! The video was released on July 16th. It was directed by George Morgan from Frame by Frame Media and was filmed in Ocean City, Maryland.
The cover artwork for Side By Side was designed by our very own, Kc Cowan.

Here’s what Josh Swain had to say about the first track off the album with “Echo”:
“I wrote this song in my head while hiking in the Pisgah Forest. It’s basically just my train of thought and my observations of life and existence and change. It didn’t make much sense to me until I read what I had written. I think it applies to all of humanity. Everything is going to have to change, but we keep on pushing like a steaming train, hoping that the fire will remain.”Josh Swain (Guitarist/Vocalist)

You can purchase The Movement’s latest album, Side By Side, on iTunes by clicking HERE

The Movement Background:
When The Movement came on to the scene, they were a 3 piece group out of Columbia, S.C. The original line up consisted of Jordan Miller, Josh Swain & Jon Ruff (DJ Riggles). In March of 2004, The Movement released their debut album On Your Feet. In 2008, the group decided to record their 2nd album Set Sail & just before its release, DJ Riggles left to raise a family, which paved the way for drummer Gary Jackson & bassist Jay Smiles.

[Editors Note: Gary & Jay were not on the Set Sail album, but the first song The Movement recorded with Jordan, Josh, Gary & Jay, was “Care (You Don’t Even)” that was first released on The Pier Comp Vol. 1.]

Josh Swain would leave the group in 2010 & The Movement would later release One More Night in 2012 with Jordan Miller on guitar/vocals. Just one month following One More Night‘s release, Jordan decided to part ways with the group. Not long after Jordan’s departure, Drummer Gary Jackson & Bassist Jay Smiles would reunite with founding member Josh Swain back on guitar/vocals which would lead to their new, August 13th, 2013 release of Side By Side,

So fans now have 2 albums with both Josh & Jordan, 1 album with just Jordan & now 1 album with just Josh, both on guitar & vocals. There are a lot of layers & depth to this group. Their music is special & the more you know their history, the more you appreciate their entire catalog of Reggae, Rock & Hip Hop.

The Movement has toured nationally with SOJA, 311, Rebelution, The Green, Slightly Stoopid, G. Love & Special Sauce, The Original Wailers, Wu-Tang Clan and performed at many of the top U.S. music festivals. They’ve opened for acts such as Steel Pulse, Blues Traveler, Common, Ludacris, George Clinton, Yellowman, to name a few.

The Movement Links:
The Movement Editorials
The Movement Website
The Movement Facebook

Huge thanks again to The Movement for allowing us to share new song “Echo” to post up for FREE download. Free music is a privilege that we’re grateful for and we appreciate the work these artists do! Please feel free to download this song and spread the awareness to your friends! Enjoy the FREE track on the homepage!

Article By: Mike Patti