New EP from The Sheffield Crew

New EP from The Sheffield Crew

The “Sunshine State” of Florida has a love for reggae-rock, creating a scene that has supported the growth of a small grove of bands in this genre. Recently, The Sheffield Crew has been one these Florida bands to spring up and develop a following around the region.

When their 2012 debut, independently-produced album, When The Night Falls was released, the 4-piece band of Marco Island set down a path to make a strong name for themselves within Florida’s growing reggae-rock scene. Keeping their stride going, the crew has released A Sunny Place For Shady People,.

Recorded at Orlando’s Sound Lounge Studios and released as a digital EP on the band’s Bandcamp page, the six tracks on the EP were self-produced with some input and engineering from Greg Shields, and Mike Steebe (Ballyhoo, Badwolf, Kayavibe).

In comparison to their last release, this EP includes a harder reggae drum and bass sound, with more horns and more harmonies, creating what the band describes as the ”quintessential Sheffield record.” When discussing the EP, Bassist, Steve Dirt, comments, “for me, it’s the first time I feel like our sound has fully developed!”

To help add these deeper musical features into A Sunny Place For Shady People, guest saxophonist Jon ‘Smally’ Cestero, formerly of the The Supervillains, handled all of the sax parts, while Sheffield Crew singer, Chris Jacobs, rounded out the horn section on trumpet.

Fans can pick up A Sunny Place For Shady People here.

Track List:
1.) Wasted
2.) Getting Hotter
3.) A Sunny Place For Shady People
4.) Rockstone
5.) Built Like A Coupe
6.) Badman

The Sheffield Crew Links:
The Sheffield Crew Website
The Sheffield Crew facebook

Article By: Aaron Solomon

Check out the title track from A Sunny Place For Shady People.