Review: 10Ft Ganja Plant – 10 Deadly Shots Vol. II

Review: 10Ft Ganja Plant – 10 Deadly Shots Vol. II

10Ft Ganja Plant – 10 Deadly Shots Vol. II
Track Listing:
1.) Rooftop Duel
2.) The Challenge
3.) Asking Hand
4.) Invincible Butcher
5.) Fist of Yuen Kay-San
6.) Death Waiver
7.) Funeral of the Master
8.) Red Boat Opera
9.) One Inch Punch
10.) Return of the Prodigal Son

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: April 20, 2012
Record Label: ROIR
Official Website: 10Ft Ganja Plant’s Website

Group Background:
Since 1999, the loose collection of reggae musicians known as 10 Ft. Ganja Plant has operated largely beneath a shroud of mystery. The band seldom offers interviews, plays shows sporadically, and releases little information with each release. This time around, all we know is that Aggrolites keyboardist Roger Rivas joins the Plant on organ for a funky, good collection of instrumental roots tracks.

Album Review:
10 Deadly Shots, Vol. II is a spectacular collection of roots reggae instrumentals, but it’s not something that’s going to be for everyone. Each track is an instrumental that sounds like it’s been ripped straight from the vaults of Trojan Records. The recording is tight and polished, with an extra layer of earthy texture added by the legendary mix-master Kevin Metcalfe.

10 Ft. Ganja Plant is very much a collectors’ band. They unabashedly draw their influence from the 1970’s golden age of reggae. They’re crate-diggers themselves, and the dedication to capturing vintage sounds of Studio One and funky Kingston shines through every track 10 Ft. Ganja Plant’s ever released. The band sounds about as roots as roots gets this time around, setting an infectious bounce while organist Roger Rivas, on loan from The Aggrolites, chimes, whistles and sprints in circles around the riddims with mesmerizing dexterity and taste.

The band appears to be approaching this album with a certain levity that wasn’t present on 2011’s Shake Up the Place. Whereas Shake Up the Place was full of religious and socio-political themes and a deep, meditative dub atmosphere, 10 Deadly Shots Vol. II is by and large a very loose, light-hearted affair. Most of the songs are light and bouncy with a major tonality, and the song titles look like allusions to cheesy 1970s kung-fu movies.

10 Deadly Shots, Vol. II an entirely instrumental affair. Now while the band does a fantastic job on a purely instrumental album, it can be hard to get into the album and stay locked in if you’re listening solo or intend to give it your undivided attention. With friends, at a party, or even in a setting where you do have your concentration on something else (e.g. cooking, cleaning, origami) it’s actually a nice bit of background music to help keep the rhythm lively and spirits high.

Written & Reviewed By: Chris Castro

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]

Video: 10Ft Ganja Plant – One Inch Punch