Review: Dub Architect – DUB Volume 2 Compilation

Review: Dub Architect – DUB Volume 2 Compilation

Dub Architect – DUB Volume 2 (Remix Compilation)
Track Listing:
1.) Dubmatix ft Luciano – Seeds of Love & Life (Dub Architect Remix)
2.) Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad – Future (Dub Architect Remix)
3.) Fear Nuttin Band ft. Jacob and Byrd of SOJA – Rebel (Dub Architect Remix)
4.) Tatanka ft. Sensamotion – Turn to Fate (Dub Architect Remix)
5.) Kings & Comrades – Dig Deeper (Dub Architect Remix)
6.) Hi Roots – Gone (Dub Architect Remix)
7.) Through the Roots – Zombies (Dub Architect Remix)
8.) Destroy DC – Dub it Down (Dub Architect Remix)
9.) The Riverside Rockers – Burdock Root (Dub Architect Remix)
10.) Alific – Tribal Root Seed Dub Drop (Dub Architect Remix)
11.) TALAWA – Rasta Woman (Dub Architect Remix)
12.) Bumpin Uglies – White Boy Reggae (Dub Architect Remix)

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: Oct 1st, 2013
Website: Dub Architect Website

Group Background:
Currently based in Charlottesville, VA, Justin Pietro a.k.a. Dub Architect, has been heavily involved in the DMV (DC / Maryland / Virginia) Reggae scene for the better part of the last decade. After playing in numerous roots and dub outfits around the area, the multi-instrumentalist and dub producer co-founded Dub Campaign with long time friend and bassist John Larsen a.k.a. Righteous Dub. Dub Architect co-produced and mixed Dub Campaign’s debut EP, Lion in Disguise, (released January 2013) and served as the executive producer for the band’s B-side dub remix album, Lion in Dub, (released April 2013).

Album Review:
Dub music came out of the necessity to get more from your less, while turning engineers into a driving force for creativity and musical expression. Using rhythm tracks and vocal snippets, Dub pioneers like King Tubby, Lee Skratch Perry and Scienist would rock mixing consoles like video games with lighting fast precision, adding effects, while mixing to tape. This was the creation of a new musical style. Dub is a heavily cited, but misused term and Dub Architect does the genre proper.

Heavy hitters like Luciano, Dubmatix, Fear Nuttin Band and Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad are along for the ride, providing their vocals and rhythms to be manipulated in the echo chamber with the Architect.

Dub Volume 2 starts off with more of a remix version of the Dubmatix/Luciano collaboration, “Seeds of Love”. Luciano’s vocals stand at the front of the mix, carrying the minimalistic rhythm soulfully and beautifully. “Future” is a drippy minor dub that takes PANDA!’s Roots sound, opens the pocket and toys with the songs ghostly melody, laid down by acoustic guitar.

Fear Nuttin Band’s “Rebel” goes from a steady Reggae Rhythm to the Metal sound that this band is famous for mixing. I have always wondered how this band would sound with more of a dub treatment and as it turns out – it’s fucking great!

“Turn to Fate” by Tatanka kicks off the more traditional dub side of the Album that is prevalent through the next 7 songs. We hear the Architect drop the bass and rhythm in and out of the mix, at times rolling the hi-hats with delays and letting the bass rock. The Dub Architect bring Kings and Comrades, Hi Roots, Through the Roots, Destroy DC, the Riverside Rockers, Alific and TALAWA through an aural landscape producing some very authentic sounding Dub. Enthusiasts will hear familiar sounds used by some of the greats in this section of the album keeping things true to form.

“Zombies”, by Through The Roots & one of my favorites at the moment, bounces around modeling vintage dub techniques from phased out snares and large verbs to more modern sounding elements like the sweeping pads and synths.

The part of the album that I kept rewinding happened at 3:01 on “Dub it Down” by Destroy DC. Listen to the hi-hats… you have to appreciate those hi-hats. This track also has the best skank on the whole record…. Not just the chuck of the guitar, but the whole skank… the magical wobble that comes from the combination of the bubble organ and guitar/piano chuck.

The album concludes with “White Boy Reggae” by the Bumpin Uglies. I loved the sentiment and clever dismissal of the absurd notion of White Boy Reggae… or at least the band being described by this ridiculous moniker.

Dub Architect is great at his craft, whether mimicking traditional engineering techniques or adding his own take on Dub. “Dub Volume 2”, a well produced head nodder from start to finish.

Written & Reviewed By: Tommy Dubs (of A Sunny Place For Shady People)

[Editor’s Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]