Review: Fortunate Youth – It’s All a Jam

Review: Fortunate Youth – It’s All a Jam

Fortunate Youth – Its All A Jam
Track Listing:
1.) It’s All a Jam
2.) Till the End
3.) One Love
4.) Moog Lude
5.) Ali’s Song
6.) Love Won’t Leave Me Alone
7.) Positive
8.) Some Might Say
9.) Vibration Dub
10.) Peace Love & Unity
11.) Sweet Sensi
12.) So Rebel

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: March 19th, 2013
Website: Fortunate Youth Website

Group Background:
Coming straight out of South Bay, Los Angeles, Fortunate Youth embodies a casual, reggae roots vibe with heavy emphasis on bass, and keyboards, that has led to their commercial success on Up-Lifted in 2010. Up-Lifted reached as high as #2 on the iTunes Reggae Charts, and #13 on Billboard’s top Reggae Albums. The (now) 6-piece band has such a complete sound that distinguishes them among one of the best up and coming reggae bands.

Album Review:
This is a perfect album to take in that feel of summer vibes, and relaxing beach havens. For a majority of this album a consistent emotional swag keeps the listener jamming hard. Without an elaborate emotional spark however, It’s All a Jam still eaves a good taste, even after the tunes stop playing.

On tracks such as “One Love,” Fortunate Youth throws in some great horn work, as well as that ever-present bass and percussion sound that gives these guys an edge. Dan Kelly’s vocals are energetic and passionate throughout the whole album, with a great example on “Peace, Love and Unity” that really shows the completeness of Fortunate Youth.

What makes It’s All a Jam so pure, yet grounded, is the bands ability to transition tracks and to keep to a simple feel. The headlining track “It’s All a Jam” starts this album off with a classic organ on some raw vocal work that sets the tone for the rest of the album. The track “Sweet Sensi,” is a stoner’s anthem, while the track “Positive” reminds the listener to stand up for what’s right, and that reggae music is the path to do just that.

Despite laying down a solid framework, the only knock is lacking a little more creativity. Tracks like “Vibration Dub” and “Moog Lude” bring this one down a bit, and equal out some of the better tracks on the album. With no obvious tracks that take the cake as lead singles, there is just that one piece that is absent. There are solid tracks through and through, but staying in one’s comfort zone has pros and cons, especially when it comes to such a talented group of musicians. There are no features on this one, and these guys stick to what they know, yet lacks a little outside-the-boxness.

Regardless, the talent is there from these guys, and It’s All a Jam will be a nice addition to the collection. This album is a traditional performance from Fortunate Youth, and they deserve a lot of credit on being able to put out something very melodic, while keeping it kosher by staying original. It’s All a Jam is a great album to set the mood for new fans to get acquainted to, and old fans to keep jamming to.

Written & Reviewed By: Andrew McClatchy

[Editor’s Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]