Review: Menny More – Menny’s Book of Riddims

Review: Menny More – Menny’s Book of Riddims

Menny More – Menny’s Book of Riddims
1.) Never Giving up
2.) Now That She Here
3.) One Moment In Time
4.) What Dem A Go Do
5.) Power That He Gave Us
6.) Champion Sound
7.) Gunman (feat. Mykal Rose)
8.) Innocent
9.) Worm
10.) Conquering Lion (feat. Phillip Fraser)
11.) Man A Kang Kara
12.) Nuh Leave out Jah
13.) Laugh
14.) Jamaicuadorian (feat. Sudakaya)
15.) Life We Say
16.) Married In The City

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: June 23rd, 2012
Official Website: Menny More Website

Group Background:
It was the legendary Dennis Brown who first suggested that Menny More sing instead of DJ. At Don One studio, Menny was found practicing some harmonies on a random day Brown had come in to record. “He heard some of the stuff that I was doing and he told me that I needed to be singing, so of course I listened to the Man and… I started to sing”.

Menny continued to hone his skill and linked up with the Easy Star All Stars back in the early days of the band. It was Junior Jazz, a founding member of the touring band and a good friend of Menny’s, that made the link and Menny has been touring the world over, and over, with the Easy Stars since he started 7 years ago. “It truly has been a blessing to be able to travel all over the world, spreading reggae vibes and meeting wonderful people along the way. Big Up the Easy Star family for making this happen!”

In 2011, Menny More embarked on a solo project, which brings him much joy, motivation, and pride. He is ready to make his name known far and wide as a solo artist, one that has much experience and one that is spreading a positive message to the world, thanks to the wonderful instrument that Jah blessed him with.

Album Review:
Formerly a Jamaican Deejay, Menny More has now heralded himself as an effervescent sing-jay and songwriter. He integrates Rastafarian-influenced themes with reggae and dancehall tinges with his sophomore effort as a solo singer. However, many stepped to his side to complement and support him such as his Easy Star All Stars collaborators and several fellow producers.

Ranging widely from politics and social peace, women and love, to Jah himself, Menny More’s lyrical focus is all over the map. His first dub-doused single Never Giving Up is a hopeful message about overcoming adversity, and was a riddim of CS Dodd’s to begin with. Menny More however directed the re-lick of the classic with Basil “Ben Bow” Creary and two former-Easy Star bandmates Shelton Garner and Renard “Ras I Ray” Shy.

After the feel-good love song Now That She Here, Menny More paid tribute to Whitney Houston with a reggae cover of her Emmy Award-winning single One Moment In Time. The song is inspired by self-confidence, which naturally glimmered into becoming a theme for the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul, South Korea.

While some songs feature happy-go-lucky melodies, few such as Innocent reverberated more like a hip-hop track with a rather urgent message of false accusations. Menny snapped out lines faster than my mind could comprehend. Conversely In Gunman, a lyrical duel with Black Uhuru’s Grammy award-winning singer Mykal Rose, the combined melodic harmonies gave off a rather easy-going vibe even in light of the touchy subject-line.

With not only an affluent ability to hit notes on both vocal extremes, Menny More’s heavy Jamaican accent was more than beneficial, but an album-maker. Dennis Brown made no mistake in the game-changing advice he gave to More once specializing as a DJ rather than a singer.

Later in the album, the vocal melodies and riddims really hit home. Laugh and Jamaicuadorian are my two favorite tunes all-around. In Laugh Menny sings on both ends of his vocal range over a staggering bassline and riddim.

From start to finish the diverse sounds, styles, and riddims doused Menny More’s second full-length album with a rather-lively and old-school reggae vibe. Menny More reminded us the roots of reggae music with a delightful plethora of rastafarian, love, and sociopolitical influenced messages. He showcases a broad selection of old and new riddims from his lengthy musical career; from his Studio One days in Jamaica to his time spent in America.

Written & Reviewed By: Matt Emodi

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]