Review: No Doubt – Push & Shove

Review: No Doubt – Push & Shove

No Doubt – Push & Shove
1.) Settle Down
2.) Looking Hot
3.) One More Summer
4.) Push and Shove
5.) Easy
6.) Gravity
7.) Undercover
8.) Undone
9.) Sparkle
10.) Heaven
11.) Dreaming The Same Dream

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: September 25th, 2012
Record Label: Interscope
Official Website: No Doubt Website

Group Background:
No Doubt began their musical journey nearly over 25 years ago. The Anaheim, CA foursome rocketed to fame in 1995 with the release of the mega-popular “Tragic Kingdom,” which featured the iconic single “Don’t Speak.” Along the way the album was certified diamond, and the single spent four months atop the Billboard Hot 100 Charts. The release of 2001’s “Rock Steady” again propelled No Doubt to the top of the charts and music world. The Sly and Robbie produced, and reggae and dancehall-infused, album generated two Grammy-winning singles—placing No Doubt among the most important bands of the decade. Following an extended hiatus and five-year writing process, the release of “Push and Shove” marks the band’s first album in 11 years.

Album Review:
A lot has changed in the music world since No Doubt’s success. Let’s remember that when No Doubt left the scene, boy bands, Sugar Ray, Dido, Pink and Fuel ruled mainstream airways and music television. Today’s mainstream music world is ruled by Maroon 5, Kanye West, Gotye and Katy Perry. Whether the music world is better or worse today than it was in 2001 is debatable. Either way, it is encouraging that after an 11-year break from the action No Doubt is back with “Push and Shove.”

With the exception of a couple of tracks, No Doubt seems uninfluenced by today’s musical trends, picking up where “Rock Steady” left off. Like 2001’s “Rock Steady,” “Push and Shove” (generally) lacks traditional instruments and is full of electronic, dub and dancehall sounds. The album’s radio-friendly title track feels like a flashback to 2001, and could have easily been part of “Rock Steady’s” track list.

Once past the dance tunes, the last third of the album is slower, ballad-like songs, which, for me, are the strength of the album. Songs like “Undone,” and “Sparkle” showcase the band’s traditional instrumentation, and are a combination of reggae, singer-songwriter and 1980’s Cyndi Lauper-type pop. The mix of songs, along with the track list order, give the feeling that “Push and Shove” is two different albums in one—which may be the result of the five year writing process.

Overall, “Push and Shove” is what you’d expect from No Doubt. In a time when artists seem to follow trends, No Doubt, one of music’s trendsetters, stayed true to their sound. While it is clear that “Push and Shove” continues the band’s musical progression set forth by “Rock Steady,” I, for one, am waiting for No Doubt to return to their true roots—pop-infused-ska-punk, a sound they helped define nearly twenty years ago.

Written & Reviewed By: Kit Chalberg

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]

Here’s the Official Music video for their first single “Settle Down” off the Push And Shove album. Coming in at close to 6minutes, the song doesn’t reflect much of the Ska we’re known to hearing from No Doubt, but it shows the band back in the mix, flirting their new album. Enjoy the video…