Review: NOFX – Self/Entitled

Review: NOFX – Self/Entitled

NOFX – Self/Entitled
1.) 72 Hookers
2.) I Believe in Goddess
3.) Ronnie & Mags
4.) She Didn’t Lose Her Baby
5.) Secret Society
6.) I, Fatty
7.) Cell Out
8.) Down With the Ship
9.) My Sycophant Others
10.) This Machine is 4
11.) I’ve Got One Jealous Again, Again
12.) Xmas Has Been X’ed

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: Sept 11th, 2012
Record Label: Fat Wreck Chords
Official Website: NOFX Website

Group Background:
Circa twenty-four years ago The Southern California Punk Legends NOFX released their debut full length album Liberal Animation, through Wassail Records. Since then they have sold over six million records, achieved gold status with their 1994 milestone Punk In Drublic, and have even recorded the second longest punk rock song in American history with The Decline, clocked in at 18 minutes and twenty-three seconds. Accordingly, NOFX has become known as one of the most successful independent bands of all time.

It has been three and a half years since the group released Coaster, their previous full-length release. Although NOFX’s discography is marked by countless releases, vinyls, and Eps ,Self/Entitled will mark their twelfth full-length production as they scheduled a lengthy list of tour dates stretching to the last day of 2012

Album Review:
With the release of Self/Entitled, NOFX yet again stabs at a realm of under-disclosed and should-be topics in modernity. Better yet the album is a return to their true gritty, lightning-fast strong suit. After NOFX seemingly took a step in the wrong direction with Coaster in 2009, Fat Mike’s trademark wheeze and nonconformist attitude make a bold return, El Hefe and Melvin assault their guitars with fury, and NOFX makes their largest dent since War on Errorism in 2004.

To say the absolute least about substance, Fat Mike once again proves to be one of the most interesting, yet honest songwriters in his league. Embellished with a satirical worldview, Fat Mike uses the mic to share a bout of social dilemmas, political affairs, and his religious beliefs.

In the song ”72 Hookers” Fat Mike references to radical Muslim beliefs in reference to the afterlife. He insists that the root of the violence and terrorism across the world is the pent up sexual tension in the Muslim culture.

Mike also sings about his loud ego through out the album. My favorite,”Cell Out” , parades over a distortion-filled progression and a bass-endowed rhythm. In the song Mike sings about having a fragile ego and even mentions being called a “has-been”.

In ”I’ve Got One Jealous Again, Again”, NOFX hit the brakes for a ballad-type punk rock song about a divorce Mike went through recently. In the song his ex-wife and him are splitting up the record collection they had merged. It serves as a sequel to the song ”We Got Two Jealous Agains” from 2003’s War On Errorism. We also see a rare emotional side to Mike throughout multiple songs, such as ”Down With The Ship”, in which he puts blame on himself for the divorce.

Overall, Self/Entitled is a relapse of the same energy NOFX produced twenty years ago. Although a few songs bled together and felt out of place, it is enthralling to see that NOFX return to writing music like their ear-splitting selves. This album won’t live up to their famed 90’s releases, but it may very well be their magnum opus of the new millennium.

Written & Reviewed By: Matt Emodi

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]

Check out this live version of I Believe in Goddess from Self/Entitled!