Review: Seedless – Twisted Roots

Review: Seedless – Twisted Roots

Seedless – Twisted Roots
Track Listing:
1.) Twisted Love
2.) 911
3.) In Time
4.) The Light
5.) Harmony
6.) Turn The Bass Down
7.) Two Weeks
8.) March
9.) House a Home
10.) Rise Up
11.) Fathom
12.) Christina
13.) Reggae Party
14.) Cold Sweat
15.) Banana Tree
16.) Energy

The Pier Album Rating:

Album Produced by: Lewis Richards @ 17th Street Studios
Purchase Album

Group Background:
Seedless was formed in the summer of 2006 drawing together an eclectic group of individuals and quickly finding a sound of their own under the umbrella of Dub-Rock Reggae. Seedless began to push the limits on reggae music with their ability to go from roots reggae to progressive rock to just about any style of music while intertwining the genres flawlessly.

Album Review:
This brilliant debut album has 14 solid songs of hard hitting dub-rock reggae & 2 easily forgettable voice mail interludes to make up the 16 track album. With Twisted Roots, there’s nothing redundant or repetitious with the songs. The music is like a story that takes on a life of its own from start to finish. Whatever you hear in the first minute of each song is in no way how the song will remain or end up. Because of its originality & phenomenal production, this is the kind of album to launch a new group straight to stardom. Notable tracks such as Twisted Love, 2 Weeks, In Time & Reggae Party spotlight the album as the most impressionable with it’s production. Each song on this album keeps me glued to the track like a seat on a roller-coaster, taking me on a ride to see where each minute of each song leads to in this album of roller-coaster surprises. Complete with highs & lows, twists & turns, this album can be summed up into one word; ENERGY!

Vocalists Casey Sullivan & Matt Liufau bring heavy doses of a soulful, melodic presence over an album complete with horns, percussion & soothing keys that enable aggressive guitar riffs & solos. With restless, aggressive drumming, you’ll hear your share of gunshot snare drops to accompany the energy displayed in songs such as Harmony & Energy.

Banana Tree & Rise Up feature Casey as the sole vocalist & while both songs are good, the team of both Matt & Casey collectively contributing vocals on songs, go together like Peanut Butter & Jelly. They’re both good by themselves but so much better when blended together. Songs such as 911 & House a Home are good examples of the combination that really shows the selfless depth this group has in their ability to produce such high energy with their music.

In one of the best albums of 2010 my only complaint is the 2 interludes included with Turn The Bass Down & Christina. These are voice-mail interludes that the group decided to put in the middle of a solid album. I’m okay with interludes, as long as they’re after the album in a hidden track or as the final track after all the music has been played. But the interludes were Track 6 & Track 12, rudely interrupting the album when listening from start to finish. If you take away the 2 interludes and/or replace them with 2 songs, then I’d say you might have a 5 star album & those don’t come around often. Regardless of the interludes, pick this album up TODAY!

Written & Reviewed by:
Mike Patti

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]