Review: The Supervillains – Volume 8

Review: The Supervillains – Volume 8

The Supervillains – Volume 8
Track Listing:
1.) Party (feat. Smally)
2.) Where Is My Mind (Pixies Cover)
3.) It Must Be True Love (feat. Smally)
4.) Drinkin’ Last Night
5.) Bottom of The World (feat. Jeff Richie, Chris King, & Blak)
6.) Fundamentalists )feat. Antonee First Class)
7.) The Place (feat. Leilani Wolfgramm)
8.) Space (feat. Charlie Blender)
9.) Free (feat. D.P. 7 Brett Hestla)
10.) Resin’ 13 (feat. Jeff Richie & Chris King)
11.) Stuck (feat. Antonee First Class, S.B.K. & Blak)
12.) Johnny Too Bad (The Slickers Cover)

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: April 9th, 2013
Record Label: Rah Rah Rah Records
Website: The Supervillains Website

Group Background:
This Orlando, Florida based 4-piece features two vocalists on drums and guitar, a bass, and a keyboard player named T-Rex. Yeah. It’s The Supervillains, and they are making some serious waves in the reggae world as they have shared the stage with the likes of Pepper, Slightly Stoopid, and Fishbone, among many others, leading to their success in headlining they’re own tours these days. These guys have a really unique sound blend that mixes reggae punk/alternative and ska, and clearly it’s working for them. They have now released 7 studio albums (despite this one called Vol. 8.) and have even started they’re own record label entitled Rah Rah Rah Records.

Album Review:
Just like the band, this album is a mixed bag of treats that tastes like twelve different flavors. With plenty of features from artists such as Smally, Jeff Richie, Chris King, Antonee First Class, D.P., Brett Hestla, Leilani Wolfgramm, Charlie Blender, S.B.K., and Blak, just to name a few. However, it’s not just the feature’s that really make this album. What’s going on here is hard to put into words, other than an orchestrated complitation of random funkiness, while a few songs stand out and a few just ride the back of the bus. The issue here is unorganized sounds that change from track to track.

Volume 8 brings the listener a ton of different genres from the classic, ska sounding Pixies cover “Where is My Mind,” to a very hip-hop oriented jam titled “Free” feat. D.P. and Brett Hestla. The only other highlights that stand out are the punk/reggae track “the Place” feat. Leilani Wolfgramm, that includes a super catchy hook and some great vocal and instrumental work, and The Slickers cover of “Johnny Too Bad.”

The clash of genres and sound, maybe mixed with an array of random features just makes this one feel more like a mixtape then a studio album. There are a few decent tracks on the album, including “Bottom of The World” feat. Jeff Richie, Chris King and Blak, being very strong with the instrumental work, just lacking a bit on the vocal work.

Volume 8 is 12 tracks of rasta/hip-hop/ska/roots music, and there are some high points on this album that will make any listener bob their head, and download a few of these songs. However, The Supervillains just didn’t put it all out there on this one and they lacked a little “completeness” that would have been nice to see from them. They are a talented to group and the features that they grabbed for this release are pretty cool, they just missed a little organization to bring this whole thing together, but enjoy it nevertheless.

Written & Reviewed By: Andrew McClatchy

[Editor’s Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]