Review: Tomorrows Bad Seeds – The Great Escape

Review: Tomorrows Bad Seeds – The Great Escape

Tomorrows Bad Seeds – The Great Escape
Track Listing:
1.) The Great Escape
2.) Sleepwalker
3.) One Way
4.) My Everything
5.) Shape of Things
6.) RIsing
7.) Ballerina Girl
8.) Past Time
9.) Call Me Crazy
10.) War Letter
11.) That’s Life (Feat. Watsky)
12.) Los Angeles
13.) Regime
14.) Conun Drum

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: June 12th, 2012
Release Date: UrbanTone Records
Official Website: Tomorrows Bad Seeds Website

Group Background:
Tomorrows Bad Seeds are a five-piece Alternative-Rock/Reggae band from the sun-drenched city of Hermosa Beach, CA, nestled along the Los Angeles coastline. Formed back in 2004, TBS burst onto the reggae circuit with the distinct Southern California Reggae-Rock sound, with their own punk/hip-hop twist. They originally made their name with tireless work on the road, touring upwards of 40 weeks a year. Then in 2007, TBS’ debut album Early Prayers catapulted the band to another level. Their sophomore album Sacred For Sale saw similar success with hit single and radio success for “Slow Down” and “Only for You”.

With the flavor of love always present with Tomorrows Bad Seeds, “Nice and Slow” serenaded fans for nearly an entire year before the band’s third full-length studio release, The Great Escape

Album Review:
As The Great Escape begins with the self-titled track, the intensity of TBS’ 3rd full-length album is overabundant. One word that describes “The Great Escape”, both the song, and the album, is passion. At the onset of the album, the listener is taken back to the early days of the Bad Seeds, reminiscent of the album Early Prayers. The upbeat sing-along anthems are present throughout each track, which the fans will thoroughly enjoy at live shows.

Lyrically, the album is full of lovable ensembles, yet conscious choruses for a better day for tomorrow. As the album moves forward, from track to track, a constant theme is not necessarily present. However, if one had to be placed on this particular album, it would be trials and tribulations of relationships, which everyone can relate with. That in itself, is where the overwhelming passion and vigor pours out through the lyrics, as in the songs “Sleepwalker”, “Rising”, and “Call Me Crazy”, among others.

Perhaps, The Great Escape is eluding to this sentiment of, removing yourself from a dismal relationship, yearning for the better, or even making a clean break, turning over a new leaf to see the beauty of a new day, or new life. But, it is up to the listeners to decipher.

Musically, the band shines with their musicianship, ranging from elements of the new found admiration for dubstep music dashed in a few of the tracks, while also showing their softer side with gentle piano playing of Mat McEwan. Although, with all of these different styles and tempos thrown into the 14-track album, a true on-going feel for the album didn’t come through. Each song sounded like a completely different voyage, and sometimes a different backing band with Moises Juarez’s notorious vocals.

Some of the quality features include, the radio-hit single, “One Way”, which is easy on the ears. On the album, yet kicked up few notches for live performances, “My Everything” and “Regime” take the listener back to the upstroke, edgy side that fans have come to love. However, there is a more Pop sound to this album, as “Ballerina Girl” features an electronic drum kit, strings, as well as highlighting the piano and leaning towards their hip-hop side, while collaborating with Watsky on “That’s Life”

Throughout the album, the element of reggae is there, Tomorrows Bad Seeds just showed fans the otherside to their musical repertoire. It is expansive, and this album justified that sentiment. The pop melodies are there. The head banging punk-rocker tracks are present, as well as the reggae upstrokes. The album felt unsettled for my palette without a clear-cut journey or destination. But, there is a song for all musical taste buds on The Great Escape, more than a few ditties that should remain as live TBS staples for years to come.

Written & Reviewed By: Kris Siuta

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]