Review: Tubby Love – Waves

Review: Tubby Love – Waves

Tubby Love – Waves
Track Listing:
1.) More Than Enough
2.) Jah Spirit
3.) Lionheart
4.) Keep the Oil in the Ground
5.) The Garden
6.) Walking Each Other Home
7.) Everything Is Music
8.) Chant up Zion feat. Trevor Hall
9.) We Are Water (feat. Amber Lily, Elijah Ray, Chris Berry, Murray Kyle & Franko Heke)
10.) Go
11.) Chant up Zion (Remix) [feat. Tha Mammoth]

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: July 17th, 2017
Official Website: Tubby Love Website

Artist Background:
David Andrew Terrett – better known as the genre-bending Tubby Love, has been creating music for years, citing it as “the catalyst for deepening his connection to life and also a bridge for sharing his music with others.” Originally from Anahola, Hawaii and now residing in Kauai, Tubby Love has been bringing people together through his music and understanding of current issues to help incite and inspire change. Tubby Love is also on to frequently collaborate alongside notable artists including Trevor Hall, Mike Love, Nattali Rize, Rising Appalachia and more. 3 years in the making, his new album Waves has arrived and was produced by visionary The Matt Scientist.

Album Review:
This album was a breath of fresh air for me – I felt like I was on a musical walkabout.

Waves doesn’t even necessarily jump out as a reggae album. This is more of an acoustic, hip-hop, jam and folk soul-fest of a sweet-sounding journey with reggae intertwined. Easy listening can also help define Waves, and I personally heard so many different influences baked into this record – Citizen Cope, Incubus, Nahko and Medicine for the People to name a few. Moments of this album feel like a lullaby, while others felt like a get-up-out-your-seat and conquer the day type of song.

Hard to pick a favorite track from Waves. “Chant Up Zion” featuring Trevor Hall deserves to be in the discussion, with a light hip-hop beat, acoustic dynamics and uplifting lyrics including “they say that faith can move mountains/so let it come move me/let it come move you.” “Everything is Music” also jumps out as a star track, highlighted by soothing vocal harmonies featuring an infectious chorus – you’ll find this to be a common theme across the 11 tracks on the album.

Vocal offerings from Tubby’s partner-in-crime Amber Lily are equally as enchanting throughout the record, and are especially made known on my personal favorite, “Keep the Oil in the Ground” – the track has much to offer from the beat-boxing rhythm, the acoustic churning of the guitars, additional hints of percussion and a chorus you’ll be singing along to.

I was really into this record from start-to-finish, captivated even. I want to hike to the top of a mountain, listen to this album, head back down and do it again. I want to turn on a dimly-lit lamp and post up on the couch and read a book to it. There are so many settings in which you can enjoy this record. The uniqueness will grab a hold of your attention and not let go for the 41 minutes that spans across Waves. For me, I’ve surely become a member of the Tubby Love fan club — those who listen to this record will likely soon follow.

Written & Reviewed By: Brian Glaser

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, NOT the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]

Watch: Tubby Love – “Jah Spirit”