Review: Ziggi Recado – Self Titled

Review: Ziggi Recado – Self Titled

Ziggi Recado – Self-Titled
Track Listing:
1.) Get Out
2.) New Day
3.) Mary
4.) My Everything
5.) Still Wandering
6.) Prostitute/Crackhead (Feat. Pete Philly)
7.) This Year (Feat. Maikal X)
8.) Can’t Stop Me Now
9.) All My Life (Feat. Etana)
10.) Real Talk
11.) Time For Greatness (Feat. Mr. Probz)
12.) Away From Home (Feat. Royston Williams)
13.) Jah Alone (Feat. Tippa Irie & Omar Pery)
14.) Pretender

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: June 7th, 2011
Record Label: VP/Greensleeves
Official Website: Ziggi Recado Website

Artist Background:
Born and raised on the Caribbean island of St. Eustatius, Ziggi Recado moved to the Netherlands to study in 2001. There he was introduced to Mr. Rude, the owner of an independent label & studio called Rock N’ Vibes Entertainment. After releasing his debut in Feb. 2006 on Rock N’ Vibes Entertainment, Recado garnered several prestigious awards in the Netherlands leading him to release his second album worldwide via VP/Greensleeves and touring all over the world. Ziggi Recado is his third album

Album Review:
Typically, Americans are pegged by foreign nations as being somewhat ignorant towards the world outside our borders. Although this is just a nasty stereotype, like most stereotypes, it does have some small footing in reality. I, myself, find that I am oftentimes quite ignorant of the transcontentinental expansion of certain cultural elements, especially with reggae (doubly strange considering that I spend a lot of time writing about the stuff).

Reggae music is very much a global phenomenon, but it’s a fact that’s rather easy to forget. There are reggae bands in Europe, South America, Oceania, and Southeast Asia, but, typically, in the States we tend to consider it as Caribbean music with a strong satellite office in SoCal. Hopefully, though, this impression of ours is apt to change rather soon, as the reggae major VP prepares to drop Caribbean-born, Dutch artist Ziggi Recado’s latest album, simply titled Ziggi Recado, in all fifty states.

Ziggi Recado’s vocal style musical approach very closely resembles Damian Marley circa Welcome To Jamrock, so much so that at points I had a hard time believing this album had been produced in Holland instead of Jamaica. The intro track and lead single off the album, “Get Out,” is a bittersweet break-up anthem that pounds with dancehall riddims and sweetly grooves in the pocket under Ziggi’s patois-inflected rhymes. Featuring gorgeous female harmony vocals (a staple of this album), the track is an energetic opener touching on a sore but easily relatable subject.

The rest of the album bends and twists in several directions, each track taking a stab at a new genre or style. “New Day” employs a heavy stomping rhythm, featuring handclaps instead of cymbals, and “My Everything” utilizes driving indian percussion amidst a murky, ethereal soundscape. Ziggi also stabs at hip-hop and r&b during various tracks, with his most successful turn coming on “Real Talk,” a sizzling Motown-inspired soul jam featuring entrancing interplay between funky organ and wah-wah guitar.

Despite coming all the way from Holland, Recado’s album sounds like it could have been ripped straight from our side of the Atlantic. Fans of roots, dancehall, hip-hop, and r&b should find plenty to enjoy in Ziggi Recado, a dancehall smasher just waiting to break out in America.

Written & Reviewed by: Chris Castro

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]

Here is the official music video to the song Get Out

Here is the official music video to the song Mary