The Interrupters Announce New Album ‘Fight The Good Fight’

The Interrupters Announce New Album ‘Fight The Good Fight’

It’s been since 2016’s Say It Out Loud that we’ve seen a new album from ska-punk favorites The Interrupters. The Los Angeles based band made their announcement during Back To The Beach Festival that their new record, Fight The Good Fight, will drop June 29th, 2018 via Hellcat Records!

The band consists of brothers Kevin, Justin & Jesse Bivona who play guitar, bass & drums respectively with lead-vocalist Aimee Interrupter belting out her signature punk raspy vocals. They broke out onto the scene in 2014 under the guidance of Tim Armstrong of Rancid with Hellcat Records releasing their debut self-titled record, followed by 2016’s Say It Out Loud. They’ve since toured with the likes of Green Day, Dropkick Murphys, Bad Cop Bad Cop & will join NOFX, Bad Religion & Mad Caddies on the Punk In Drublic 2018 Summer tour in addition to select dates on Warped Tour.InterruptersTable

The bands new single, “She’s Kerosene,” premieres with a new music video that was shot on (secret) location with direction by Tim Armstrong. The album, recorded at Shipwreck Recorders in Los Angeles, will include 12 brand new songs. One song on the album, titled “Got Each Other” features a guest appearance with vocals by every member of Rancid in Tim Armstrong, Lars Frederiksen, Matt Freeman, and they were able to sneak drummer Branden Steineckert in there on back-up vocals. The track is described as a street-punk, unity song.

The Pier had a chance to speak with the band as guitarist Kevin Bivona explains: “We’re definitely keeping the ska going but also trying to develop our songwriting and trying to grow. We had Tim Armstrong produce this record as well and it was all of us in the studio at all times. He brought a Studer 24 track tape machine in there and,” (as Aimee Interrupter adds) “– That was new, that was really exciting because it has a certain urgency and a lot of it is just 1 take! 1-take vocal, I’m singing live with the band, and produced old-school; It really captured some magic.”

Part of the urgency with recording to tape is the quality diminishes with each take, so its optimal to nail that first or second take which draws out that urgency and anxiety as a band to dial it in just right for the record. Whether that pressure equals a diamond of a record will be revealed on June 29th. They wrote 30-40 songs, recorded 18 to tape and decided on 12 for official release. Aimee tells The Pier: “That’s what was different from our other records was the amount of songs that we had to pick from.”

[Related: Fat Mike & Mad Caddies to Release Ska-Punk Cover Album]

You’ll be able to stream the record June 29th or you can pre-order it now by clicking HERE! Be on the look out next week to read our full Q&A interview with the band discussing their new album as well as Aimee’s guest appearance on Mad Caddies ska-punk cover album Punk Rocksteady.

Watch: The Interrupters – “She’s Kerosene”

The Interrupters – Fight The Good Fight Tracklist:
TheInterrupters_FightTheGoodFight1.) Title Holder
2.) So Wrong
3.) She’s Kerosene
4.) Leap of Faith
5.) Got Each Other (feat. Rancid)
6.) Broken World
7.) Gave You Everything
8.) Not Personal
9.) Outrage
10.) Rumors and Gossip
11.) Be Gone
12.) Room With a View

Related Links:
The Interrupters Website
The Interrupters Facebook

Article By: Mike Patti
Photo By: KZ at In The Barrel Photo

Watch: The Interrupters – “Take Back The Power”