The Movement’s New Single & Album

The Movement’s New Single & Album

Fans have been waiting patiently for The Movement to come up with some fresh new music after what seemed to be the end of the band in 2012. Since their last release of their #1 Billboard Reggae album One More Night, the band has been trying out new sounds and tightening up their music.

Having lost their frontman, Jordan Miller, just hours before a show, it was unsure if the band would be able to continue playing. Luckily, the band regrouped with the founding member, singer/guitarist Josh Swain. Now the boys are happy as ever and ready to show the world that they’ve been hard at work with their new single.

They’ve just released their new single “Sweet Life”, which features SOJA’s Rafa on trumpet. Not only is there a brand new single, but a killer video to go along with it! The video was released on July 16th with sneak peak freeze frames of the video released for several days before the big release on the band’s Facebook page. It was directed by George Morgan from Frame by Frame Media and was filmed in Ocean City, Maryland.

If you’re expecting this new album, titled Side by Side to sound anything like their previous album, One More Night, you’d be in for a surprise. This album brings life to a cool and easy reggae vibe, different from past sounds. The release date is set for Tuesday, August 13, giving the band plenty of time to continue teasing fans with their social media posts about the release.

Playing shows all around the East Coast, the band will be gearing up to play amongst reggae legends at the Reggae in the Park Festival in Philadelphia. Some fellow artists hitting up the stage will be Beres Hammond, Tarrus Riley and Shaggy just to name a few. With a tour name appropriately chosen to be “Bring Back the Good”, we hope the band is staying together for good!

Side By Side Track List:
1.) Echo
2.) Freeland “Featuring Rafa”
3.) Side By Side
4.) Sweet Life
5.) Popol Vuh
6.) Moonshine
7.) Gift
8.) Be Easy
9.) Mile High
10.) Another Woman
11.) Galaxy
12.) Atlas “Featuring Chuck Treece”

Upcoming Shows:
Jul 25 @ Amos’ Southend, Charlotte, NC
Jul 26 @ Seacrets, West Ocean City, MD
Jul 27 @ Seacrets, West Ocean City, MD
July 28 @ Seacrets, West Ocean City, MD
Aug 04 @ Mann Center for the Performing Arts, Philadelphia, PA
Sep 06 @ Masquerade, Atlanta, GA
Oct 26th @ Battleship Park. Wilmington, NC (Cali-Roots Carolina Sessions).

The Movement Links:
The Movement Editorials
The Movement Website
The Movement Facebook

Article By: Erin Walsh