Tribal Seeds New Album ‘Representing’

Tribal Seeds New Album ‘Representing’

Tuesday, May 13th, marks a day that fans of new-age reggae have been anxiously awaiting for at least 3 years in the making. After countless hours on the road, sold out shows across the nation, and some major additions to the band’s lineup, Southern California’s Tribal Seeds have announced plans for the release of their fourth studio album, Representing.

This will be the band’s first full-length release since 2009’s The Harvest. More recently, Representing comes as a follow up to 2011’s Soundwaves EP, which marked the first time that the band would work in the studio with current member and keyboardist, E.N Young. Known as the United States’ most Southwest recording studio, Tribal Seeds chose E.N’s Imperial Sound Recording Studio for engineering and mixing on the entire album. The highly anticipated 12-track LP was then mastered at Lion & Fox Studios by Mike Caplan.

Originally formed in 2006, Tribal Seeds continues to produce their own music with the help of co-founder, keyboardist and producer, Tony-Ray “Maad T-Ray” Jacobo. Staying true to the band’s hardworking ethic, production for the album was done by Maad T-Ray and Tribal Seeds while they recently toured across the nation for 35 shows on the Representing Spring Tour 2014 with New Kingston and Inna Vision.

[Related: Tribal Seeds Representing 2014 Spring Tour]

Representing features the talent of some of today’s most respected artists in the reggae scene, from new-age to old-school. The album starts off with guest vocals from Midnite’s Vaughn Benjamin on the title track and is followed up by Tony-Ray’s vocal debut in his verse on “Rock The Night.” While the band’s newest member, Gonzo, can be heard singing and harmonizing on a few tracks, other notable features include past tour mates, New Kingston and Kyle McDonald of Slightly Stoopid. Reggae legends, Don Carlos and Mykal Rose, were also called upon to help “represent” the unity and respect that Tribal Seeds has solidified in the reggae scene.

Currently at #1 on the Amazon Pre-Sale chart, Tribal Seeds is offering an immediate download of the track, “Blood Clot,” with all pre-orders of the new album.

In February, the band released a teaser on YouTube for the album’s first single, “Fill It Up.” With no other information on the album available, the “fan-driven” music video has currently reached over 58,000 views to date and Tribal Seeds’ fan base continues to grow as they spread their positive and conscious lyrics across the globe. Tribal Seeds has created a formula to which has blessed the band with continued success throughout the years. This formula consists of the band taking “great pride in equally focusing on the art of producing high-quality recorded music and the art of putting on an outstanding live show.”

What began as a side-project between two brothers in San Diego, California, has become an ever-growing movement with constant improvements to help the band, along with their music, reach new levels and audiences. Make sure to check all the details below for a full track listing on the new album, as well as a list of the band’s current lineup, tour dates and links. Tribal Seeds has also announced plans to hit the road again for a Summer Representing Tour with support from New Kingston and more, so be sure to check back with The Pier as we continue to keep you updated!

Most importantly, don’t forget to pick up Tribal Seeds’ long-awaited fourth studio album, Representing, on May 13th! You can pre-order via iTunes by clicking HERE or on Amazon by clicking HERE!

Tribal Seeds – Representing (tracklist):
Representing-Album1.) Representing (ft. Vaughn Benjamin of Midnite)
2.) Rock The Night (ft. Tony-Ray Jacobo)
3.) Fill It Up (ft. Gonzo & New Kingston)
4.) In Your Area (ft. Kyle McDonald of Slightly Stoopid)
5.) Moonlight
6.) Ruined
7.) Blood Clot (ft. Don Carlos)
8.) Undercover Lover (ft. Gonzo)
9.) Night and Day
10.) Herb Stock (ft. Mykal Rose)
11.) Don’t Wait
12.) Lonely Night

Tribal Seeds current lineup:
Steve Jacobo (Vocals/Rhythm Guitar)
Tony­Ray Jacobo (Keys/Back up vocals)
Carlos Verdugo (Drums)
Victor “Shams” Navarro (Bass)
E.N Young (Keys/Back up vocals)
Ryan Gonzo (Lead Guitar/Back up vocals)


Tribal Seeds Links:
Tribal Seeds Website
Tribal Seeds Facebook
Imperial Sound Recording Studio Facebook

Article By: David Garcia
Photo By: Grafx Photography

Watch: Tribal Seeds – Fill It Up (ft. Gonzo & New Kingston)

Listen: Tribal Seeds – Blood Clot (ft. Don Carlos)