Yellowman’s 2CD/DVD Anthology Release

Yellowman’s 2CD/DVD Anthology Release

On April 23rd, 2013, the iconic dancehall pioneer, Yellowman, will be releasing his 2 CD/DVD Reggae Anthology titled Young Gifted And Yellow via North Parade. This 2 Disc set will include 40 fully re-mastered tracks & a 25 minute DVD.

As a bonus, the deluxe package will include thorough liner notes written by reggae historian Noel Hawkins and a 25minute DVD of Yellowman’s 1988 electrifying live performance at Jamaica’s longstanding annual music festival Sumfest.

Born Winston Foster on January 15th 1956, Yellowman, aka King Yellowman, remains to be one of the most pivotal music figures out of Jamaica today. He was able to overcome Jamaica’s negative social stigma on albinism and embrace his uniqueness, hence his moniker Yellowman. The inimitable dancehall deejay rose to prominence in the 1980s during a time when roots reggae was flourishing with megastars like Bob Marley, Peter Tosh and Jimmy Cliff.

As you can you see from the track listing below, the first set of the anthology opens with his early ‘80s breakthrough hits like “Mad Over Me” recorded for Channel One, “Death of Barnabas,” “Operation Eradication” and the infamously “slack” “Shorties.” The second disc moves toward his later hits like “Who Can Make the Dance Ram” (a rewrite of “The Candy Man”), “Zungguzungguguzungguzeng” (one of Jamaica’s most sampled songs to this day), “Nobody Move Nobody Get Hurt” and a cover of Fats Domino’s “Blueberry Hill.”

Yellowman has collaborated with Run DMC and his iconic 1983 hit “Zungguzungguguzungguzeng” has been sampled by rap heavyweights like KRS-One, Notorious B.I.G., 2pac, Dead Prez and Black Star (Mos Def and Talib Kweli).

Disc One:
1.) Mad Over Me
2.) Shorties
3.) Soldier Take Over with FATHEAD
4.) Lost Mi Love
5.) Mister Chin
6.) Mr. Wrong with FATHEAD
7.) Herbman Smuggling with FATHEAD
8.) Eventide Fire
9.) Operation Eradication with FATHEAD
10.) Out Of Hand
11.) Them A Fight I
12.) Death of Barnabas
13.) King and Queen with SISTER NANCY
14.) Yellowman Getting Married
15.) I’m Getting Divorced with FATHEAD
16.) Morning Ride
17.) Night Flight
18.) Top Form
19.) Water Rock with FATHEAD
20.) Duppy Or A Gunman

Disc Two:
1.) Zungguzungguguzungguzeng
2.) Who Can Make The Dance Ram
3.) Quiet
4.) Bunn The Kutchie
5.) The Girl Is Mine with PETER METRO
6.) Ram Jam Master (a.k.a. Wreck A Pum-Pum)
7.) Body Move
8.) Nobody Move Nobody Get Hurt
9.) Galong Galong Galong
10.) Walking Jewelry Store
11.) Gregory Free
12.) Jah Mek Us Fi A Purpose with SISTER NANCY
13.) Love Struck
14.) Rub A Dub A Play with FATHEAD
15.) Rub And Go Down
16.) Bam Bam with FATHEAD
17.) One Yellowman Ina The Yard with FATHEAD
18.) Strong Mi Strong
19.) Blueberry Hill
20.) Where Is Santa Claus? with MRS. YELLOWMAN

Yellowman Links:
Yellowman Website
Yellowman Facebook

Article By: Mike Patti