July 2012 Album Releases

July 2012 Album Releases

The “Year of the Fan” continues into summer with the month of July dishing out 8 new albums that were added to the mind blowing 2012 summer soundtrack. The list includes a few very anticipated records from legends in the genre as well as some lesser known gems you don’t want to sleep on…

While we spotlight 8 new album releases for the month of July, we’d also like to point out that this also marks the month No Doubt begins heavy promo for their first album in 10 years with the release of “Push & Shove” that drops on Sept 25th 2012. This month No Doubt goes public with their newest single, ““Settle Down,” on July 16th a long with a Music Video they debuted on E! that you can watch below.

Read the rest of the albums & share your thoughts on the new No Doubt song that comes in just over 6:00 minutes

July 2012 Album Releases

Toots & The Maytals – Unplugged on Strawberry Hill
Release Date: July 2nd
Toots and The Maytals, inspiration for Sublime and countless other artist, have released a very special project. The band released a new live album, Unplugged on Strawberry Hill and the much anticipated DVD documentary Reggae Got Soul.
The dual release draws from their history, featuring hits from multiple records throughout the past. The album, Toots and The Maytals – Unplugged on Strawberry Hill includes twelve iconic tracks, recorded in Jamaica’s Blue Mountains, during a live acoustic performance. The documentary, Reggae Got Soul contains 18 tracks, the footage of that same Strawberry Hill performance, and also five tracks from the band’s famous 1982 Rockpalast concert.

Read more about Unplugged on Strawberry Hill, here.

Rick Haze – Mellowave
Release Date: July 9th
Hailing from Orlando, Florida is producer and lyricist Rick Haze. After frequently attending shows and performances, Haze met with fellow-producer and singer E.N. Young during a leg of a Florida tour of with Tribal Seeds. Since then he has performed with internationally-touring acts such as Tribal Seeds, Fortunate Youth, and predictably E.N. Young.
In October of 2011, the east coast rapper decided to kickstart his new music project during his last year in the military titled Mellowave. With the help of album engineer E.N. Young, Roots In Peace ( Juan Navarro and Alex Gammill of Beyond I Sight), multiple features from across the United States, and the internet, Mellowave became Rick Haze’s reggae, dub, and rap-inspired debut.

Read The Pier’s official Album Review & Star rating by clicking HERE

Easy Star All Stars – Billy Jean (Digital EP)
Release Date: July 12th
The Easy Star All-Stars released their Billie Jean EP just a month before the release of their much anticipated tribute album Thrillah. This EP is an early sampling of what fans will get to hear in August. The five track Billy Jean EP includes two tracks off the Thrillah album, “Billie Jean” featuring Luciano, and “Human Nature” a collaberation with Cas Haley.

Read more about the Billie Jean EP, HERE.

Matisyahu –Spark Seeker
Release Date: July 17th
Liberating himself from the traditional Hasidic garb that set him apart so successfully, Matisyahu is now set to release his fourth studio album, Spark Seeker, a record with a sound as different as his new look. Dropping July 17 through Matisyahu’s Fallen Sparks Records, Spark Seeker, is the 13 track product of a yearlong collaboration with multi-platinum producer Allan “Kool Kojak” Grigg. Spark Seeker, is a brave new studio album that allows the unique singer- songwriter to exploring uncharted territory with help from gifted artists from around the world. “This is definitely pushing the boundaries of what I’ve done before…It’s a new kind of record for me.” – Matisyahu.

Read more about Spark Seeker, HERE..

Read The Pier’s Official Album Review by clicking HERE.

Jimmy Cliff – Rebirth
Release Date: July 17th
Nearly eight months after the release of his Sacred Fire EP on July 17 Jimmy Cliff will drop his first new full length studio album in over seven years. The much anticipated album, titled, Rebirth, combines the talents of the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer with award-winning producer and punk prodigy, Tim Armstrong of Rancid to cut the 15 track album. When Rebirth finally drops, fans will get three songs off the EP, as well as other originals, and cleaver covers like the Clash’s “The Guns of Brixton” and a version of Rancid’s ‘Ruby Soho.”

Read more about Rebirth, HERE.

Read The Pier’s Official Album Review by clicking HERE.

Yellowman –Young, Gifted & Yellow (2CD/DVD Set)
Release Date: July 17th
Young Gifted and Yellow, the re-mastered collection of the legendary Jamaican dancehall artist Yellowman, will be available to fans July 17th. Yellowman, the incomparable deejay whose unique take on Jamaican dancehall, shined a light on the genre, uplifting it to international acclaim.

This deluxe package includes two CDs and a DVD. The CDs are packed full with 40 re-mastered tracks, which include rare tracks and the classic favorites. There are 18 tracks from Look How Mi Sexy and songs from the Greensleeves, Ras and Shanachie catalogs. The DVD features Yellowman in the height of his career, during a full concert performance, recorded in 1985.

The Ambassador –Live In Ocean Beach
Release Date: July 17th
This follows New Roots, his 2011 full-length release, which was nominated for “World Music Album of the Year” at the 2011 San Diego Music Awards as wells as “Best Album” and “Best Producer” at the 2011 Virginia Reggae Awards. This new release strays away from the polished studio sessions of New Roots and brings a more loose and raw sound to the tracks. The new 8-song EP was recorded at Gallagher’s Irish Pub in San Diego, a club popular for its “Reggae Night” where The Ambassador frequently plays.

Reel Big Fish –Candy Coated Furty
Release Date: July 31st
Reel Big Fish made a name in the music industry as being one of the flagship bands to put the ska-punk style onto the doorstep of mainstream popularity. Five-time Warped veterans, are set to release their seventh studio album on July 31st, 2012. Titled, Candy Coated Fury, and released via Rock Ridge Music, the 14 track record will be comprised of all new, original music.
Reel Big Fish’s founding vocalist, guitarist and principal songwriter Aaron Barrett posted on their website stating, “This album is a lot like our first two albums. It’s got a lot of the same intensity, frantic energy in the music, and the same sarcastic sense of humor. I think these are the fastest songs we’ve done since those albums.”

Read more about Candy Coated Fury, here.

Article By: Aaron Solomon