Review: The Holdup – Consequence

Review: The Holdup – Consequence

The Holdup – Consequence
Track Listing:
1.) Sabraya (Intro)
2.) Girl Next Door
3.) I Don’t Love You Yet
4.) Bad Boy
5.) Head and Money
6.) Square
7.) We Party
8.) My Weekend
9.) Can’t Feel a Thing
10.) Honest (feat. James Melo)
11.) The Moon and the Stars
12.) All The Way Down
13.) Sativa
14.) Tomorrow Will Be Better
15.) Nostalgia (feat. James Melo)
16.) The Moon and the Stars (Chopped N’ Screwed)

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: May 18th, 2012
Record Label: Dubrock Records
Official Website: The Holdup’s Website

Group Background:
The Holdup formed in early 2008 out of San Jose when drummer Danny Flores and vocalist Mike Garmany recruited bassist Kyle Christensen and DJ/Manager Clev Stiles. After only just a few months of playing local gigs the group cultivated a solid fan base and began selling out local venues. As the group’s popularity grew the demand for an album was apparent. In late 2008 The Holdup hit the studio and began recording their first full length album Stay Gold.

In 2010 the quartet found instant success with the release of their sophomore release, Confidence. It rose to the first spot on iTunes reggae chart and The Holdup was named iTunes’ Best New Reggae Artist. Following with yet another #1 album in 2011 Still Gold, The group has been known to recant their limits as a reggae band, pumping pop, hip-hop, and alternative into their musical selfhood. The group has put a dent in mainstream radio, as a feature on KSCU 103.3FM and KITS Live 105.3 in The Bay area with their single from Consequence titled ‘My Weekend’.

Album Review:
The Holdup’s musical platform has held strong since day one. With Consequence, the four-piece sheds further light on issues left unsaid by most of their industry-specific cohorts. Their fourth album presents nothing new for the California DJ/band combo as their lyrical significance again accentuates gritty, shameless, and true-life moments and settings– with a somewhat non-embellished, but addictive musical framework.

Alcohol, sexy girls, parties, and mind-numbing drugs are drumming themes throughout their discography and they did not take a different approach with Consequence. Their music may not pertain to a universal audience, however honesty and realness are two well-respected elements that pump through The Holdup’s veins. This album reiterates many of those ideas through a barrage of reggae, acoustic, and hip-hop-style songs; The Holdup’s strong suit.

“Can’t trust me when the press is near”, sings Mike Garmany in the song “Bad Boy” idealizing much of the band’s writing attitude.

The first single from Consequence, “My Weekend” is the epitome of feel-good summer music. The Holdup yields most of their incredibly dynamic beats with a drum machine. I don’t know if anyone does it better. Melodies such as “My Weekend” builds off these electronic beats brilliantly. I’m wondering how this translates to a live ambiance though. “We Party” is also party anthem material. It has a poppy flair to it and it screams MTV-ready.

“Honest” is a song about ailing relationships. It has a catchy fabrication of harmonies as well as a message relevant to men and women who have been in and out of love in their lives. It may be my favorite on the album, and the addition of featured vocalist James Melo was a suitable match. He also appeared on “Nostalgia”, where his Drake-like voice matches up to the level of lead singer Mike Garmany. It took awhile for me to distinguish between the two singers during their respective verses in “Nostalgia”.

A lot of songs seemingly bleed into each other. Many of the songs are simply one looped melody. Often I found myself trying to distinguish between songs due to the fact that many carry upon the same beat. However, the individual meanings are what distinguish The Holdup vibe from the rest. In “Square”, Garmany sings about living with his mom, doing it all for the free drinks and girls, but most importantly not changing his sound for the critics. Who couldn’t respect that!?

Overall, The Holdup’s fourth album proves their unchanging presence in a struggling industry. Emotions run high throughout Consequence. There was the faultless balance between love and hate, partying and addiction, money and jealousy, plus some. However, the music is faceted to a younger demographic and won’t appeal to everyone. Not everyone will enjoy listening to songs about one’s sex life and money, but The Holdup recognizes their audience.

Their reggae tendencies shine through, nevertheless Consequence is especially embellished with poppy melodies, hip-hop rhythms, and even a rap verse here and there. Followers will appreciate this jaunty sixteen track album but with such an exclusive truthfulness and blend of genres, who couldn’t?

Written & Reviewed By: Matt Emodi

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]