Review: The Supervillains – Postcards From Paradise

Review: The Supervillains – Postcards From Paradise

The Supervillains – Postcards From Paradise
1.) I Hate Everything
2.) Drinkin’ Tonight
3.) Careless Whisper
4.) The Way That I Like It
5.) Free
6.) I’m Gonna Do
7.) I’m Leavin’
8.) Fundamentalists
9.) Stuck In The Middle
10.) The Bottom Of The World
11.) Puddles
12.) Without You
13.) Don’t Be Afraid
14.) Postcards From Paradise

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: Feb 8th, 2011
Record Label: RAH RAH Records

Artist Background:
The sunshine state-based, Jagermeister-loving band, The Supervillains, have been blending the crashing drums and rebel lyrics of punk rock with the quick guitar riffs and walking bass lines of ska, while also keeping a steady reggae vibe within their tunes with pulsing keys and swaying horn sections, for about a decade. Rocking out venues from Ft. Lauderdale to Anaheim with acts such as The Wailers, Pennywise and Fishbone, the guys are relentlessly on the road and just started 2011’s winter tour with fellow-Floridians Less Than Jake to promote their new album. It’s been more than two years since The ‘Villains’ LAW Records release, Massive, and today fans of the ganja-supporting musicians will get another hit of that rude-boy-charm with their first self-release via Rah Rah Records, Postcards from Paradise.

Album Review:
With Postcards From Paradise, The Supervillains’ follow up to 2008’s Massive, the Orlando boys have created a 14-track swaying sonic experience full of dancing bass lines and shining horn sections, pulsing keys and bouncing guitars that wrap around jamming drum beats, which all back lyrics that slyly embed themselves into the listener’s consciousness. I know this from personal experience because for the past week I’ve had the voices of band singers Dominic Maresco (drums) and Scott Skart Suldo (guitars) stuck in my head, singing the choruses of almost every track.

In a word, PFP is catchy. From the title to the repetitive hooks, it’s catchy as s#!t and it creates a poppy-punk album atmosphere that carries throughout. Songs like I Hate Everything, The Way I Like It, Free, and Don’t Be Afraid, have a very Green Day-311-Blink 182 vibe vocally, but are infused with tropical island, dancehall rhythms. While some might find the catchiness off-putting, I think it works great for the overall flow and connectedness of PFP as a whole and I think the songs can only add to the Supervillains’ live shows.

The paradise-pulse created by saxophone counter-melodies, playful keyboards, echoing sound effects and shimmering drum beats, give the musicality of PFP a very Beach Boys quality, but with a rude-boy twist. These aren’t your momma’s beach boys and on PFP the lyrics of The ‘Villains, for the most part, ooze with bitterness for the ladies and display a general eff you attitude for anyone who stands in the way of their punk rock dreams.

These sentiments are evident in two of my favorite tracks. I’m Leavin’ is a breezy groove about a fed up lover and Fundamentalists, with its deep horn section and quick guitar strums, is The ‘Villains way of flipping the bird to those in control (in the music industry, specifically, I think) that are closed off to new ideas and follow rigid doctrines, All they want is for them good old days to come back around, but it’s a brand new day with a brand new sound, We’re all plugged in and it’s playing loud, Let’s drive the assholes out of town.

Other notable tracks are a party anthem called Drinkin’ Tonight, a reggaefied rendition of Careless Whisper, The Bottom of The World as well as the album ender and title song, Postcards from Paradise, which is bursting with crashing drums and is reminiscent of an Irish pub song.

Overall, PFP is just another successful step in the evolution of a hardworking and fast living band. It’s great for parties and road trips or for anyone with relationship woes (music always helps!). The production quality is prime and it’s filled with a lot of fun moments and sonic layers.

Written & Reviewed by: Amber McDonald

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer, expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, not the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]