The Green’s Next Studio Album – Hawai’i 13

The Green’s Next Studio Album – Hawai’i 13

Straight out of Hawaii comes The Green releasing their highly anticipated new album titled Hawai’i 13 on August 20th via Easy Star Records. This is the groups third studio album and was recorded & mixed with Danny Kalb out of Costa Mesa, CA via Hurley Studios.

Hawai’i 13 is the first album by The Green using a dedicated producer & engineer with Danny Kalb. Guitarist-vocalist Zion Thompson explains, “Danny was one of a few mixing engineers we had on our second album Ways & Means. We were really happy with his work on that project and his overall vibe seemed right so we asked him to be our main guy for this record and the results are pretty magical.”

The albums title, Hawai’i 13, carries inspiration with not just the year it’s being released, but the fact that the album will also include 13 songs.

In addition, it’s significance stems from hometown influences as Zion shares “It’s also a reference to a song that we grew up with called ‘Hawai’i ’78’ by Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwo’ole. The song deals with the issues and ongoing conversations about the changes that have happened to our land and people. It questions how our ancestors would react to seeing things like over-crowding, technological advancements and unwanted industrial growth. Something that many people and cultures around the world can relate to, but is an ongoing issue to the people of Hawai’i to this day and is still very fresh in our minds. On this record we wanted to encapsulate this push and pull feeling of both a connection to the past and a progression forward, all in one.”

The first single off the forthcoming release is “Take Me On” and the album is available for digital pre-order on iTunes by clicking HERE The CD and vinyl pre-order is available through the band’s web store by clicking HERE!. There, fans can also add in newly designed Green tank tops for men or women. First week (7/16-7/23) pre-orders will also receive a 25% discount through the web store.

The Green – Hawai’i 13 Track List:
1.) He Mele No Ku’u Hawai’i
2.) Even Before
3.) Good One
4.) Something About It
5.) Power In The Words
6.) Good Vibe Killah
7.) Chocolates & Roses
8.) Hold Me Tight
9.) Striking Up A Love
10.) Take Me On
11.) Forget Me
12.) Count To 3
13.) Stand & Rise
-iTunes Bonus-
14.) Always & Forever
15.) Hawai’i Aloha

The Green Links:
The Green Editorials
The Green Website
The Green Facebook

Article By: Mike Patti
Photo By: Mason Rose