Thunder Body Return With New Album ‘Solstice’

Thunder Body Return With New Album ‘Solstice’

Thunder Body have returned from hiatus with a brand new album titled Solstice. The Rochester, NY natives dropped their third full-length release on October 13th, 2017 via Rootfire Cooperative. Solstice captures a crisp blend of roots and soul, balancing themes of universal experience and deep personal reflection.

Lead by Rachel Orke (keys) and Matt O’Brian (drums/vocals), Thunder Body is a talented 9-piece band with a wide net of musical influences tied together into a soulful, vintage reggae sound. Orke and O’Brian, who formerly performed with Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad, are joined by Jeremiah Pacheco (bass), Dennis Mariano (guitar/vocals), Brian Blatt (sound scientist), Benton Sillick (trumpet), Matt Seiber-Ford (tenor sax), and Abe Nouri (trombone). The Rochester-based group is a regional favorite that has contributed greatly to a thriving Upstate New York reggae scene.

Solstice was recorded in two separate studio sessions at More Sound in Syracuse, NY, alongside producer and former bandmate Jocko Randall. The first session was recorded before Orke and O’Brian gave birth to their son, while the second session took place after, with new inspiration and perspective. After the second session, the band entered a hiatus and the tracks sat dormant, until Thunder Body revisited the recordings and realized they had a full-album on their hands.

The entire album rings out smoothly, but album standouts include the tracks “Moonlight over Mendocino,” “Gong,” and “What’s Sweet About Lemons.” Solstice also features a song with Matt’s brother Chris O’Brian, who is the drummer for GPGDS. The track, titled “Elliot’s Song,” discusses the birth of Chris’ own son.

The artwork for the album was illustrated and designed by local Rochester artist Justyn Lannucci. Lannucci explains the creative process noting, “Matt and I were vibing off of some older psychedelic novel covers. And we were trying to let the viewer come up with their own interpretations of the charged symbols. The figures on the bottom of the image may or may not be the band.”

Thunder Body’s new album Solstice is available now using the purchase link below. The group is in process of putting together tour dates, so stayed tuned for updates. 

Thunder Body – Solstice Track List:
1.) Solstice
2.) What’s Sweet About Lemons
3.) Jasper Sage
4.) Moonlight Over Mendocino
5.) In The Night
6.) Trainyards
7.) Gong
8.) Secrets of the Senzae
9.) Worried Woman
10.) Elliot’s Song

Watch: THUNDER BODY – “Trainyards”

Related Links:
Solstice Purchase Link
Thunder Body Official Website
Thunder Body Facebook

Article By: Brian Winters

Watch: Thunder Body – “Trainyard”

Listen: Thunder Body – “Radio Active”