Cali-Roots’ First Vinyl Compilation Record

Cali-Roots’ First Vinyl Compilation Record

If you weren’t able to fully celebrate Record Store Day in all its glory this year, fear not! California Music and Arts Festival are here to help as the eighth annual installment of the festival approaches. In partnership with Guitars Not Guns, California Roots will be releasing their debut vinyl release -– California Roots Vol. 1 featuring 12 tracks. Only 1,000 copies have been pressed; read the details below on how to grab your copy!
Since 2010, reggae-rock and music festival enthusiasts in general have made good habit to pencil-in the festival in their calendar on a yearly basis. With favorites from all genres coming together and top-notch headlining artists consistently on the bill, Cali-Roots has truly become a movement as well as an experience, offering much more than just the incredible music itself. Headliners for Cali Roots this year include Rebelution, NAS, Dirty Heads and many more -– for the full list of artists and sets to make sure you don’t miss, check out the below article detailing the full lineup for 2017.

[Related Links: Dirty Heads, Rebelution & NAS to Headline Cali Roots 2017]

All profits collected from sales of the vinyl record will be donated to the “Guitars Not Guns” program. The mission statement from Guitars Not Guns is to “use music as a catalyst to encourage children and teens to use their creativity to foster personal development and to help divert them from the destructive influences of drugs, alcohol, and gang-related violence.”

All artists included in the vinyl were extremely supportive of the project — festival co-producer Dan Sheehan offered some additional details behind the release and background of the vinyl record coming together:
“We wanted to embrace the time when physical music and vinyl was the standard for listening. I’m excited to be able to capture this year’s lineup with our limited-edition picture disc vinyl. It’s something special that fans can enjoy and be a part of. We are extremely honored to be able to donate all proceeds to the Guitars Not Guns music program in Monterey, CA, helping children channel their energy through music and positivity.”

In addition to the 8th anniversary of the Cali-Roots festival, the vinyl release will also celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Monterey Pop Festival -– the event is once again located at the Monterey County Fair and Event Center. The original artwork on the record was designed and created by the festival’s artist Shaun Logan, to include a gate-fold jacket and a picture disc. 30 of the copies made available for sale will also include “Golden Tickets” -– lucky winners will have the opportunity to upgrade to VIP privileges, gift certificates for merchandise and Redwood Level tickets for the 2018 edition of the festival.

Look for another volume to be released in 2018 as well! The vinyl was produced by Dan Sheehan, alongside Eric Smith and Lem Oppenheimer of Easy Star Records who were crucial to the process. Head over to the Cali-Roots website today to pre-order your copy and check out the full track-listing below!

California Roots Vol. 1 Tracklist:
Vinyl_Cover_backSIDE A
1.) Stick Figure – Choice Is Yours (feat. Slightly Stoopid)
2.) Rebelution – Inhale Exhale (feat. Protoje)
3.) Collie Buddz – Good Life
4.) SOJA – Used To Matter
5.) Jesse Royal – Finally
6.) Passafire – Feel It
7.) John Brown’s Body – Hard Man Fe Dead (feat Karim Israel of Arise Roots)
8.) The Late Ones – Thunder & Sun
9.) Common Kings – Mary Wanna
10.) Dirty Heads – Moon Tower
11.) Unified Highway – My Only (feat. Busy Signal)
12.) Stick Figure – Shadow (remix) (feat. Raging Fyah)

Related Links:
California Roots Music & Arts Festival Website
California Roots Music & Arts Festival Facebook
California Roots Music & Arts Festival Twitter
California Roots Vinyl Pre-Order

Article By: Brian Glaser

Watch: California Roots 2017 – Final Artist Announcement