Review: Raging Fyah – Everlasting

Review: Raging Fyah – Everlasting

Raging Fyah – Everlasting
Raging FyahTrack Listing:
1.) Everlasting
2.) Justice
3.) Live Your Life (feat. J Boog & Busy Signal)
4.) Dash Wata
5.) Ready For Love
6.) Humble (feat. Jesse Royal)
7.) Raggamuffin
8.) Try Again
9.) Get Up
10.) Would You Love Me (feat. Busy Signal)
11.) Happiness
12.) Wondering
13.) Getting Dread

The Pier Album Rating:

Release Date: May 27th, 2016
Record Label: Dub Rockers
Official Website: Raging Fyah Website

Artist Background:
Raging Fyah is a 5-piece modern roots band out of Kingston, Jamaica. The band is formed by Kumar Bent (lead vocals), Courtland White (guitar), Anthony Watson (drums), Demar Gayle (keys), and Delroy “Pele” Hamilton (bass). Raging Fyah came together in 2006, serving primarily as a backing band in their early days. They began writing original material after bringing on Bent in 2010. Prior to Everlasting, Raging Fyah self-released Judgement Day (2011) and Destiny (2015). Raging Fyah has performed for audiences around the world, recently joining Stick Figure and Fortunate Youth for their first U.S. tour.

Album Review:
For the last couple years we’ve been witnessing the reggae revival taking place in Jamaica. Up until now, that movement has been largely spearheaded by solo artists, including vocalists like Chronixx, Protoje, and Kabaka Pyramid. However, Everlasting, the third studio album from the Jamaican 5-piece Raging Fyah, breaks that mold, elevating the group into that same conversation of promising, young reggae revivalists from the Caribbean island that gave birth to the genre.

The 13-track album is fun and light-hearted at its core, but contains a number of powerful, introspective songs about pushing through struggles, learning to brush off adversity, and simply embracing life. Everlasting is anchored by the captivating vocals from lead singer Kumar Bent, and enlivened at every step by the interjecting instrumental fills provided by the rest of the band. The percussion on this album really stands out, especially on the title track “Everlasting” and “Raggamuffin.”

Raging Fyah idle through the first three songs on Everlasting, but really kick it into high gear beginning on the fourth track, “Dash Wata.” It’s a relaxed, practically euphoric song that could easily be used by the Jamaican Tourist Board for one of those enticing “Visit Jamaica” type of commercials. “Humble” is an impressive track featuring the rising reggae star Jesse Royal. “Raggamuffin” is the premier song on the album — The drums and guitar ring out beautifully, wrapping around Bent’s powerful vocals. The single was also a major highlight on Dub Rockers spring compilation Reggae Dubs And Dabs.

There aren’t any unlistenable songs on the album, but a few that are somewhat overshadowed by the overall strength of the entire album. Select tracks nailed the chorus, but missed on the verses and instrumentation, or vice versa. For instance, the backing keys on “Justice” felt a bit too much like background music for an early Nintendo video game, but the harmonized chorus fit together nicely. “Happiness” is cheerful with its Christmas music melody, but the kids singing in the chorus is certainly curious.

However, the few weaker songs on Everlasting are easily outweighed by the overwhelming number of hits. Other noteworthy songs on Everlasting include “Get Up” and “Getting Dread.” The violin intro on “Get Up” is like the beginning of an emotional movie. Raging Fyah slows the music while Bent painfully cries out, “I was born a sufferah!” adding, “so many years after slavery I still don’t know my identity.” Everlasting culminates with the ghostly synthesizer on “Getting Dread.” It’s a classic case of last but not least, leaving you with a craving to replay the whole thing from the top.

Everlasting is an album that any lover of roots reggae will thoroughly enjoy. The vocals and instruments shine throughout, and the production level is top of the line. Implementing esteemed producer Llamar “Riff Raff” Brown, and recording at Jamaica’s historic Tuff Gong Studios, clearly took Raging Fyah’s sound to the next level on this album. The first-class, modern roots sound exhibited on Everlasting is the band’s defiant claim to be recognized as one of those elite, young reggae revivalists from Jamaica. Although they might not have the fashion sense of Protoje, or the superstar aura that Chronixx has gained, musically Raging Fyah is easily on par with the rest of that class.

Written & Reviewed By: Brian Winters

[Editors Note: All reviews are reflective of the album in it’s entirety, from start to finish. These reviews are the honest opinion of each writer/reviewer expressing their feedback as a genuine fan of the music. Each star rating reflects their review of the album, NOT the band. Music is subjective. Regardless of the review or star rating, we encourage you to listen to the music yourself & form your own opinion. Spread the awareness of all music in its art & contribution]

Watch: Raging Fyah – Nah Look Back | Official Music Video